This Day In Wrestling History – May 2nd

May 2, 2014 - by staff


1964 – WWWF champion Bruno Sammartino defeated Boris Malenko in Philadelphia, PA

2008 – On an episode of Smackdown,  Vickie Guerrero stripped The Undertaker of the WWE World championship in retaliation for Taker “injuring” Edge at the Backlash PPV the previous week. Guerrero also banned Undertaker’s gogoplata (Hell’s Gate) submission


In 1987, AWA SuperClash II was held at the Cow Palace, in Daly City, California. With an attendance of 2,800:

– Sheik Adnan Al-Kaissy defeated Buck Zumhofe
– DJ Peterson fought Super Ninja to a draw
– Sherri Martel defeated Madusa Micelli to retain the AWA Women’s Title
– Curt Hennig defeated Nick Bockwinkel to win the AWA World Title
– The Midnight Rockers (Shawn Michaels & Marty Jannetty), & Ray Stevens defeated Buddy Wolfe, Doug Somers, & Kevin Kelly
– Jerry Blackwell defeated Boris Zhukov
– Jimmy Snuka & Russ Francis defeated The Terrorist (Brian Knobs) & The Mercenary (Ron Fuller)

In 1991, WWF held a live event at The Wembley Arena, in London, England:
– Dave Taylor, Tony St. Clair, & Danny Collins defeated Drew McDonald, Chic Cullen, & Johnny Smith
– Koko B. Ware defeated the Brooklyn Brawler
– Jim Duggan defeated The Barbarian
– Davey Boy Smith defeated WWF Intercontinental Champion Mr. Perfect via countout
– Power & Glory (Paul Roma & Hercules) defeated The Bushwhackers
– The Berzerker (substituting for Rick Martel) defeated Tito Santana
– The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart & Jim Neidhart) defeated Demolition
– Greg Valentine defeated Haku
– The Ultimate Warrior defeated The Undertaker via DQ

In 1993, WCW held a live event in Harrisonburg, VA at the High School:

– Vinnie Vegas (Kevin Nash) defeated Steve Regal
– Johnny B. Badd defeated Chris Benoit
– Keith & Kent Cole defeated the Wrecking Crew
– Arn Anderson defeated Erik Watts
– Ricky Steamboat defeated Unitfied WCW/NWA World Tag Team Champion Brian Pillman
– Davey Boy Smith defeated Rick Rude via DQ
– WCW U.S. Champion Dustin Rhodes defeated WCW TV Champion Paul Orndorff; only the US title was at stake
– NWA Champion Barry Windham defeated Ron Simmons

In 2003, NJPW Ultimate Crush was held in Tokyo, Japan:

– Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi
– Ken Shamrock defeated Takashi Iizuka
– Jushin Liger & Koji Kanemoto defeated Tiger Mask IV & Heat to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Kenta Kobashi defeated Masa Chono to retain the GHC Heavyweight Title
– Yoshihiro Takayama defeated Yuji Nagata to retain the NWF Heavyweight Title and win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1964 – Mad Dog Vachon defeated Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1964 – Mike Clancy & Al Lovelock defeated Karol Krauser & Stan Pulaski to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1969 – Johnny Valentine defeated Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1977 – Stan Hansen defeated Dick Murdoch to win the TSW North American Title

1980 – Terry Gordy defeated Junkyard Dog to win the MSW Louisiana Title

1982 – Buzz Sawyer defeated Tommy Rich for the Georgia National Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia

1982  – NWA World Champion Ric Flair defeated Angelo Mosca via DQ in the main event of a Jim Crockett Promotions event at the Greensboro Coliseum in North Carolina

1983 – The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeated The Midnight Express to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1983 – Tony Atlas defeated NWA World Champion Ric Flair via DQ at a Georgia Championship Wrestling event in Beckley, WV.

1984 – Terry Taylor defeated Krusher Krushchev in the final of a tournament. However, the dazed referee hands the MSW Television Title to Krushchev instead

1994 – Larry Zbyszko defeated Lord Steven Regal to win the WCW Television Title

1994 – Doug Gilbert defeated Brian Christopher to win the USWA Southern Heavyweight Wrestling Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1994 – Jake Roberts defeated The Dirty White Boy to win the SMW Heavyweight Title. Also, Kendo The Samurai defeats Chris Hamrick in the final of a tournament to win the vacant SMW Television Title

1996 – Dean Malenko defeated Shinjiro Otani to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

1998 – Chris Benoit defeated Booker T to win the WCW Television Title

1999 – Mitsuharu Misawa defeated Vader to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2000 – on Smackdown, Chris Jericho defeated Chris Benoit to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2002 – The WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Steven Richards to Shawn Stasiak, to Justin Credible, to Crash Holly, to Richards, to Stasiak and back to Richards

2002 – Jushin Liger & Minoru Tanaka defeated Gedo & Jado to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2007 – Dick Togo & Taka Michinoku defeated Gedo & Jado to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2010 – Minoru Suzuki defeated Ryota Hama to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2012 – The No Remorse Corps (Rocky Romero & Davey Richards) are forced to vacate the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles after Richards suffers injuries in a car accident


Happy birthday to 10-time World Champion The Rock (42), former WWE star Caylen Croft (34), one-time WWF Tag Team Champion Randy ‘Moondog Rex’ Colley (64), & Japanese hardcore star Mr. Pogo (63)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF Tag and Hardcore Champion Ray ‘The Big Bossman’ Traylor (51)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply