This Day In Wrestling History – April 30th

Apr 30, 2014 - by staff


1991 – Norio Honaga won the NJPW Top of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating Jushin Liger in the final

1992 – Jushin Liger won the NJPW Top of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating El Samurai in the final

2006 – Giant Bernard won the New Japan Cup, defeating Yuji Nagata in the tournament final

2010 – WWE released Hall of Famer Tony Atlas, who had been working as a personality on the ECW brand but was hardly being utilized once that brand was shut down

2010 – Dusty Rhodes was inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 86% of the reader votes

2011 – Kurt Angle was inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 80% of the reader votes

2011 – WWE signed Jesse White, the son of Big Van Vader. He’d appear in FCW as Jake Carter until his release in 2013

2012 – The Bellas departed WWE as their contracts were expiring, & they opted to take time off.  They returned in early 2013

2013- Paul Bearer was inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 92% of the reader votes

2014 – WWE released several NXT talents: Former Nexus member Mason Ryan, Third generation diva Shaul Guerrero, daughter of Eddie & Vickie Guerrero whom had been appearing on NXT as Raquel Diaz. British talents Oliver Grey & Danny Burch, & Sarah Backman whom had competed under the name Shara in NXT

2014 – Scott Hall was inducted into the GERWECK.NET hall fo Fame, securing 81% of the reader votes


In 1993, the 1st AAA TripleManía was held in Mexico City:

– Octagon, El Hijo Del Santo & Villano III defeated Fuerza Guerrera, Heavy Metal & Rambo
– Lizmark fought La Parka to a draw to retain the Mexican National Light Heavyweight Title. La Parka initially won the match 2-1, but the commission declared the 3rd fall invalid
– Mascara Sagrada, Love Machine & Mascarita Sagrada defeated Jerry Estrada, Blue Panther & Jerrito Estrada
– Perro Aguayo defeated Mascara Ano 2000 in a Hair vs Mask Match, forcing Mascara Ano 2000 to unmask
– Cien Caras defeated Konnan in a Retirement Match

In 2000, WWF Backlash was held at the MCI Center, in Washington DC. With an attendance of 17,867:

Sunday Night Heat:
– D’Lo Brown defeated Al Snow via DQ
– Steve Blackman defeated Val Venis
– The Godfather & Kaientai (Funaki & Taka Michinoku) defeated Stevie Richards & The Headbangers (Mosh & Thrasher)
– Edge & Christian defeated D-Generation X (Road Dogg & X-Pac) (with Tori) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Dean Malenko defeated Scotty 2 Hotty to retain the WWF Light Heavyweight Title
– Bull Buchanan & The Big Bossman defeated The Acolytes (Farooq & Bradshaw)
– Crash Holly defeated Matt Hardy, Jeff Hardy, Hardcore Holly, Perry Saturn & Tazz in a 6-Way Match to retain the WWF Hardcore Title
– The Big Show defeated Kurt Angle
– T &A (Test & Albert) (with Trish Stratus) defeated The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von)
– Eddie Guerrero (with Chyna) defeated Essa Rios (with Lita) to retain the WWF European Title
– Chris Benoit defeated Chris Jericho by DQ to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Rock defeated Triple H (with Vince McMahon & Stephanie McMahon-Helmsley), with Shane McMahon as special guest referee to win the WWF Title

In 2006, WWE Backlash was a Raw-exclusive event, held at the Rupp Arena, in Lexington, Kentucky. With an attendance of 14,000:

Sunday Night Heat:
Goldust defeated Rob Conway
– Carlito defeated Chris Masters
– Umaga (with Armando Alejandro Estrada) defeated Ric Flair
– Trish Stratus defeated Mickie James by DQ (James retains the WWE Women’s Title)
– Rob Van Dam defeated Shelton Benjamin to retain his Money In The Bank contract & win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Kane vs. The Big Show ended in a no contest
– Vince & Shane McMahon defeated Shawn Michaels & ‘God’ in a No Holds Barred Tornado Tag Team Match
– John Cena defeated Triple H & Edge (with Lita) in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1977 – Billy Graham defeated Bruno Sammartino to win the WWWF Title

1981 – Dory Funk Jr defeated Terry Funk (subbing for the injured Bruiser Brody) in the final of a tournament to win the vacant NWA International Heavyweight Title

1983 – Joe LeDuc defeated Dick Slater to win the NWA Television Title

1983 – Greg Valentine defeated Roddy Piper via referee stoppage to win the NWA United States Title. The match was stopped when Piper suffered a large cut over his left eye

1991 – Norio Honaga defeated Jushin Liger in the final of a tournament to win the vacant IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1998 – on Thunder, Chris Benoit defeated Booker T to win the WCW Television Title

2003 – Amazing Red defeated Kid Kash to win the TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to one-time TNA X-Division Champion Shawn Daivari (30)

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply