This Day In Wrestling History – March 14th

Mar 14, 2014 - by staff


2001 – The infamous Bob Costas interview of Vince McMahon airs on HBO’s “On the Record with Bob Costas.” McMahon looked very intense & visibly upset when Costas asked him questions about the fledgling XFL & the sex & violence in the WWF

2008 – Vince McMahon received a star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame. At the ceremony, Vince joked about how happy he is to be situated next to Kermit the Frog’s star. (I was actually present at the unveiling, & there was quite a large crowd. I had the pleasure of meeting Vince, Shane, & Linda McMahon, along with Triple H about 25 mins before the event)

2008 – Darren Aronofsky’s “The Wrestler” filmed the climactic moments of the film, featuring Randy the Ram vs. The Sheik in Dover, NJ as part of a Ring of Honor event

2014 – WWE announced on Friday Night Smackdown that Carlos Colon would be inducted in to the WWE Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2014


In 1999, WCW Uncensored was held at Freedom Hall,  in Louisville, Kentucky. With an attendance of 15,930:

– Billy Kidman defeated Mikey Whipwreck to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Stevie Ray defeated Vincent in a Harlem Street Fight to gain control of nWo Black & White
– Kevin Nash (with Lex Luger & Miss Elizabeth) defeated Rey Mysterio Jr.
– Jerry Flynn defeated Ernest Miller & Sonny Onoo in a Handicap Match
– Hak (The Sandman) defeated Bam Bam Bigelow & Raven in a Triple Threat Falls Count Anywhere Match
– Chris Benoit & Dean Malenko defeated Barry Windham & Curt Hennig in a Lumberjack Match to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles (the Lumberjacks were: Hugh Morrus, Norman Smiley, Meng, Arn Anderson, Kenny Kaos, Kendall Windham, Prince Iaukea, & Bobby Duncum Jr.)
– Perry Saturn defeated Chris Jericho (with Ralphus) in a Dog Collar Match
– Booker T defeated Scott Steiner (with Buff Bagwell) to win the WCW Television Title
– Ric Flair defeated Hollywood Hogan in a 1st Blood Barbed Wire Cage Match to win the WCW World Title & gain control of WCW. Flair was actually bleeding 1st, but referee Charles Robinson refused to stop the match

In 2004, Wrestlemania XX was held at Madison Square Garden, in New York City. It saw the final WWE appearances of Goldberg & Brock Lesnar (though Lesnar would later return), & also the return of The Undertaker to his original ‘Deadman’ gimmick. With an attendance of 18,000:

– John Cena defeated The Big Show to win the WWE United States Title
– Rob Van Dam & Booker T defeated Garrison Cade & Mark Jindrak, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von), and La Resistance (Robert Conway & Rene Dupree) in a Fatal 4-Way Match to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Christian defeated Chris Jericho
– Evolution (Batista, Ric Flair & Randy Orton) defeated The Rock n Sock Connection (Mankind & The Rock) in a Handicap Match
– Torrie Wilson & Sable defeated Stacy Keibler & Miss Jackie in a Playboy Evening Gown Match
– Chavo Guerrero (with Chavo Classic) defeated Shannon Moore, Ultimo Dragon, Jamie Noble, Funaki, Nunzio, Billy Kidman, Rey Mysterio, Tajiri & Akio in a Cruiserweight Open to retain the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– Goldberg defeated Brock Lesnar with Steve Austin as special guest referee
– Too Cool (Rikishi & Scotty 2 Hotty) defeated The World’s Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin), The Basham Brothers (Doug & Danny) & The APA (Bradshaw & Faarooq) in a Fatal 4-Way Match to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Jesse Ventura came out & interviewed Donald Trump, who was in the front row. Trump promised to finance a future Ventura presidential candidacy, with Jesse hinting at a 2008 run
– Victoria defeated Molly Holly in a Hair vs Title match to retain the WWE Women’s Title and force Molly to have her head shaved
– Eddie Guerrero defeated Kurt Angle to retain the WWE Title
– The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) defeated Kane
– Chris Benoit defeated Triple H & Shawn Michaels in a Triple Threat Match to win the World Heavyweight Title

In 2009, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 7 was held in Tokyo, Japan:

– Riki Choshu & Tatsuhito Takaiwa defeated Osamu Nishimura & Manabu Soya
– Kaz Hayashi defeated Minoru to retain the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Taiyo Kea & Minoru Suzuki defeated Suwama & Shuji Kondo
– Yoshihiro Takayama defeated The Great Muta to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1887 – Evan “Strangler” Lewis defeated Joe Acton to win the World Catch-as-Catch-Can Heavyweight Title in Chicago, Illinois

1918 – Young Hackenschmidt (Neil Olsen) defeated Louis Nelson to win the World Welterweight Title in New York City, New York.

1944 – Babe Sharkey defeated Ed “Strangler” Lewis to win the Maryland World Heavyweight Title in Baltimore, Maryland

1952 – Hombre Montana & Leo Nomellini defeated Ben & Mike Sharpe to win the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in Oakland, California

1968 – Larry Hennig defeated Kurt Von Brauner to win the Amarillo NWA Brass Knuckles Title in Amarillo, Texas

1978 – Dino Bravo & Dominic DeNucci defeated Mr. Fuji & Prof. Tanaka to win the WWWF World Tag Team Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

1980 – Jose Lothario & Tiger Conway Jr defeated Mr. Hito & Mr. Sakurada to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles. Also, Bruiser Brody defeated Mark Lewin to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1980 – Junkyard Dog defeated Ernie Ladd to win the MSW Louisiana Title

1984 – Mike Rotundo & Barry Windham defeated Black Bart & Ron Bass to win the Florida NWA United States Tag Team Title in Miami, Florida

1987 – Dick Murdoch & Ivan Koloff defeated Ron Garvin & Barry Windham to win the NWA United States Tag Team Titles

1999 – Naoya Ogawa defeated Dan Severn to win the NWA World Title

2003 – A.J. Styles defeated Super Hentai to win the International Wrestling Cartel Super Indy Title in Penn Hills, Pennsylvania

2010 – Adam Pearce defeated Blue Demon Jr. & Phil Shatter in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the NWA World Title

2011 – Sheamus defeated Daniel Bryan to win the WWE United States Title

2011 – Abyss was forced to vacate the TNA Television Title through injury. Gunner defeated Rob Terry & Murphy in a 3-Way Match to win the vacant title


Happy birthday to 2-time WCW Tag Team Champion Bryan Clark (50), former WWE United States and Intercontinental Champion Santino Marella (35), & former ECW valet Beulah McGillicutty (45)

In Memoriam

On this day in 1989, the wrestling world lost William Cobb, better known as Happy Humphrey, due to a heart attack at age 62. He was 1  of the heaviest professional wrestlers of all time, averaging 750 pounds throughout his career during the 1950s & 60s

On this day in 2010, the wrestling world lost NWA Hall of Famer and multiple time Tag Team Champion Corsica Joe at the ripe old age of 90. I’m afraid I don’t have a lot of information about his career, however, he started wrestling under his real name Francois Miquet in the late 40s, teaming with his real-life brother Felix. He later adopted the Corsica Joe moniker, forming another tag team with Corsica Jean (Jean Louis Roy), & the duo proceeded to win tag team gold all across the southern states. He also found some singles success in the Texas territory, winning the Texas Heavyweight Title in 1959. He retired from active duties in 1972, but remained involved in the business, & could often be found working the door at the Nashville Fairgrounds, including the period where it was known as the TNA Asylum. Modern wrestling fans may remember him as one of the ‘Legends Parade’ on the 1st TNA weekly PPV event. He was inducted into the NWA Hall of Fame in 2008

(Visited 15 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply