This Day In Wrestling History – February 14th

Feb 14, 2014 - by staff


2011 – The Rock returned to the WWE after a 7-year absence


In 1986, CWF Battle of the Belts II was held in Orlando, Florida

– Bahamas Champion Tyree Pride defeated Ron Slinker
– Florida Champion Kendall Windham defeated Rocky Iaukea to retain the Florida Heavyweight Title
– Denny Brown defeated The White Ninja by DQ to retain the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title
– Lex Luger defeated Jesse Barr to win the NWA Southern Heavyweight Title
– Bruiser Brody fought Wahoo McDaniel to a double count out
– The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) & Blackjack Mulligan fought Kevin Sullivan, Mark Lewin, & Maya Singh to a double count out
– Ric Flair fought Barry Windham to a no contest to retain the NWA World Title

In 1999, WWF St Valentine’s Massacre: In Your House was held in Memphis, Tennessee

Dark Match:
– Too Cool (Brian Christopher & Scott Taylor) defeated The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff)
Sunday Night Heat:
– Viscera defeated Test via DQ
– Billy Gunn fought Tiger Ali Singh to a No Contest
– Goldust defeated Bluedust (The Blue Meanie)
– Bob Holly defeated Al Snow to win the vacant WWF Hardcore Title
– The Big Bossman defeated Mideon
– Owen Hart & Jeff Jarrett (with Debra) defeated Mark Henry & D’Lo Brown to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Val Venis (with Ryan Shamrock) defeated Ken Shamrock with Billy Gunn as special guest referee to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Corporation (Kane & Chyna) defeated D-Generation X (Triple H & X-Pac)
– Mankind fought The Rock to a draw in a Last Man Standing Match with neither man able to answer the 10 count (Mankind retains the WWF Title)
– Steve Austin defeated Vince McMahon in a Cage Match when Paul Wight (Big Show) accidentally threw Austin through the side of the cage

In 2010, TNA Against All Odds was held in Orlando, Florida. This event featured a one-night ’8 Card Stud’ Tournament to decide the Number 1 Contender for the TNA World Title

– D’Angelo Dinero defeated Desmond Wolfe (with Chelsea) in the 1st Round of the “8 Card Stud” Tournament
– Matt Morgan defeated Hernandez in 1st Round of the “8 Card Stud” Tournament
– Abyss defeated Mick Foley in a No DQ match, in the 1st Round of the “8 Card Stud” Tournament
– The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) defeated Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon)
– D’Angelo Dinero defeated Matt Morgan in the Semi-Finals of the “8 Card Stud” Tournament
– Mr. Anderson defeated Abyss in the Semi-Finals of the “8 Card Stud” Tournament
– AJ Styles (with Ric Flair) defeated Samoa Joe with Eric Bischoff as special guest referee to retain the TNA World Title
– D’Angelo Dinero defeated Mr Anderson in the final of the 8 Card Stud Tournament

In 2010, NJPW Circuit 2010 New Japan-ism was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Apollo 55 (Ryusuke Taguchi & Prince Devitt) defeated Gedo & Dick Togo to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– NO LIMIT (Tetsuya Naito & Yujiro) defeated El Terrible & El Texano Jr to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Masato Tanaka defeated Hirooki Goto in a Hardcore Match
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Toru Yano
– Shinsuke Nakamura defeated Manabu Nakanishi to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2012, WWE taped Smackdown to air on Friday February 17th, at the Save Mart Center in Fresno, CA. I was at this show live in person:

– The Big Show & The Great Khali defeated Cody Rhodes & Wade Barrett
– Brodus Clay & Naomi & Cameron came out in the crowd singing & Dancing
– Hunico defeated Ted Dibiase Jr.
– Epico & Primo defeated Jimmy & Jey Uso
– Daniel Bryan defeated Sheamus
– Jinder Mahal defeated Ezekiel Jackson
– Alicia Fox & Tamina Snuka defeated Beth Phoenix & Natalya
– Santino Marella won a battle royal to earn a spot in the Smackdown Elimination Chamber match at the ppv
Dark Main Event:
-Sheamus defeated Wade Barrett in a Street Fight

Title Changes

1978 – Ernie Ladd defeated Dick Murdoch to win the TSW North American Title

1986 – Jake Roberts defeated Dick Slater to win the MSW North American Title

1988 – John Tatum & Jack Victory are awarded the vacant WCCW Texas Tag Team Titles by winning a high card draw

1994 – Eddie Gilbert defeated Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

2010 – Negro Casas defeated Hijo del Fantasma to win the CMLL World Middleweight Title


Happy birthday to one-time NWA National Tag Champion Rip Rogers (59), 1995 King Of The Ring winner Viscera (42), 1-time ECW World Champion Tommy Dreamer (43), & former TNA Knockouts Tag Champion Ayako Hamada (33)

(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply