10 Longest Reigning US Champions, Where Does Ambrose Rank

Feb 3, 2014 - by staff

Since Harley Race defeated Johnny Weaver on New Year’s Day in 1975 to become the inaugural United States Champion, the man holding that title has been regarded as one of the top grapplers in the wrestling world. In fact, if you look at the list of champions, you’ll see a litany of competitors who went on to become Superstars, World Champions and WWE Hall of Famers, like Roddy Piper, Sting and Ric Flair.

Get the complete United States Title history

Dean Ambore became the 77th competitor to hold the prestigious title after defeating Kofi Kingston at Extreme Rules on May 19, 2013. Since then, The Shield’s ”Lunatic Fringe” has answered every challenge to his championship, whether by hook or by crook.

Today, Ambrose is the longest-reigning champion in WWE … but where does The Hound of Justice rank among the most enduring United States Champions of all time? WWE.com’s crack statisticians crunched the numbers and found out.

You can view the list: HERE

(Visited 45 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply