This Day In Wrestling History- December 31st

Dec 31, 2013 - by staff

GERWECK.NET Year End Awards

Every year since 2005, the GERWECK.NET readers have voted in the year-end awards. Here are some select winners from each year.

In 2005:

Wrestler – Batista
Female – Melina
Tag Team – MNM (Johnny Nitro & Joey Mercury)
Promotion – WWE
PPV – ECW One Night Stand
Match – Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle (WrestleMania 21)
Announcer – Jim Ross
Rookie – Ken Kennedy
Finisher – Petey Williams’ Canadian Destroyer

In 2006:

Wrestler – Edge
Female – Trish Stratus
Tag Team – D-Generation X (Triple H & Shawn Michaels)
Promotion – WWE
PPV – WWE WrestleMania 22
Match – 4-Way Tag Team Ladder Match (Armageddon)
Announcer – Jim Ross
Rookie – Kenny Dykstra
Finisher – Petey Williams’ Canadian Destroyer

In 2007:

Wrestler – Jeff Hardy
Female – Candice Michelle
Tag Team – Paul London & Brian Kendrick
Promotion – WWE
PPV – WWE WrestleMania 23
Match – The Undertaker vs Batista (WrestleMania 23)
Announcer – Jim Ross
Rookie – Santino Marella
Finisher – CM Punk’s Go 2 Sleep

In 2008:

Wrestler – Chris Jericho
Female – Sara Del Ray
Tag Team – The Miz & John Morrison
Promotion – WWE
PPV – WWE WrestleMania 24
Match – Ric Flair vs Shawn Michaels (WrestleMania 24)
Announcer – Jim Ross
Rookie – Evan Bourne
Finisher – Randy Orton’s RKO

In 2009:

Wrestler – Chris Jericho
Female – Maryse
Tag Team – Chris Jericho & The Big Show
Promotion – WWE
PPV – WWE WrestleMania 25
Match – The Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels (WrestleMania 25)
Announcer – Matt Striker
Finisher – Evan Bourne’s Air Bourne

In 2010:

Wrestler – The Miz
Female – Mickie James
Tag Team – The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley)
Promotion – WWE
PPV – WWE WrestleMania 26
Match – The Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels (WrestleMania 26)
Announcer – Jerry Lawler

In 2011:

Wrestler – CM Punk
Female – Mickie James
Tag Team – Beer Money Inc. (Robert Roode & James Storm)
Promotion – WWE
PPV – WWE Money In The Bank
Match – John Cena vs CM Punk (WWE Money In The Bank)
Announcer – Jim Ross

In 2012:

Wrestler: CM Punk
Female: AJ Lee
Tag Team: Team Hell No
Breakout Star: Ryback
Show: WWE Monday Night Raw
Announcer: “JBL” John Bradshaw Layfield
Promotion: WWE
PPV: Wrestlemania XXVIII
Worst PPV: WWE Hell In A Cell
Match Of the Year: The Undertaker vs. Triple H (Wrestlemania XXVIII)
Feud: CM Punk vs. Daniel Bryan
Story: CM Punk becomes the longest-reigning WWE Champ in the Modern Era
DVD: CM Punk: Best in the World
Jabroni: New Jack (saying Lawler deserved to die)



1963 – The WWWF held a television taping at the Bridgeport Arena in Bridgeport, Connecticut:
– Gorilla Monsoon defeated Klondike Bill by countout.
– Gorilla Monsoon defeated Bob Boyer.
– Klondike Bill defeated Pete Sanchez in a Best-of-Three Falls match, 2-0.
– Al Costello defeated Tim Woods.
– Jerry Graham defeated Carlos Milano.
– Tony Nero defeated Manuel Soto.
– Frank Martinez defeated Umberto Mercado.
– Chris Jelevarou defeated Pedro Rodriguez

1989 – New Japan held an event at Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Soviet Union:
– Kuniaki Kobayashi defeated Takayuki Iizuka.
– Jushin Liger defeated Black Tiger.
– Masahiro Chono defeated Chimur Zarasov by submission.
– Wahka Eveloev and IWGP Tag Team Champion Shinya Hashimoto fought to a draw.
– Riki Choshu defeated Victor Zangiev.
– Bam Bam Bigelow defeated Vladimir Berkovich.
– Habieli Victachev defeated Hiroshi Hase by submission.
– Salman Hashimikov defeated Manny Fernandez


2011- Brock Lesnar announces he’s retiring from MMA & UFC minutes after losing via TKO in the 1st round  to Alistair Overeem in the main event of UFC 141. Lesnar stated he told his wife (former WWF/E diva Sable) that he’d retired from MMA if he lost.

2011 – The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) are inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 81% of the reader votes

Title Changes

1966 – Haystacks Calhoun & Jack Brisco defeat The Assassins (1 & 2) to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1975 – Frank Goodish (Bruiser Brody) defeats Rocky Johnson to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Fl.

1978 – Killer Tim Brooks & Roddy Piper defeat Jonathan Boyd & Dutch Savage to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title

1984 – The Von Erichs (Kerry, Kevin & Mike) defeat Chris Adams, Gino Hernandez & Jake Roberts to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles

1994 – Brian Christopher defeated Tommy Rich to win the USWA Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tn.


Happy birthday to former WWE wrestler Ryan Sakoda (39), indy regular and former Tough Enough competitor Matt Cross (33), & former WWE personality Jamie Keyes (29)

(Visited 16 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply