This Day In Wrestling History- December 28th

Dec 28, 2013 - by staff


1998– WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro in the rating 4.9 to a 4.6

2009– Vince McMahon officially announced on WWE Monday Night Raw that Bret Hart would be returning to the company as the Guest Host of Raw on 1/4/2011.


In 1992, WCW Starrcade: Battlebowl/The Lethal Lottery II was held in Atlanta, Georgia. In this year’s event, only 8 wrestlers would contest the Battlebowl, having qualified from 4 tag team matches

-Van Hammer Danny Spivey defeated Johnny B Badd & Cactus Jack

– Shane Douglas & Ricky Steamboat defeat Barry Windham & Brian Pillman to retain the WCW & NWA Tag Team Titles
– Sting defeats Big Van Vader to win the King of Cable Tournament
– Ron Simmons defeats Steve Williams by DQ to retain the WCW World Title
– Masa Chono defeats The Great Muta to retain the NWA World Title
– The Great Muta wins the Battlebowl, defeating Van Hammer, Danny Spivey, Eric Watts, Big Van Vader, Dustin Rhodes, Barry Windham, Steve Williams & Sting

In 1997, WCW Starrcade was held in Washington DC

– Eddy Guerrero defeats Dean Malenko to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Diamond Dallas Page defeats Curt Hennig to win the WCW United States Title
– Larry Zbyszko defeats Eric Bischoff by DQ with Bret Hart as special guest referee
– Sting defeats Hulk Hogan to win the WCW World Title. Hogan had originally beaten Sting, however Bret Hart claimed that referee Nick Patrick had fast-counted the pin. The match restarted with Hart as referee, leading to Sting’s victory

Title Changes

1876 – James Owens defeats James McLaughlin in New York City, New York to win the American Collar-and-Elbow Title

1949 – Leroy McGuirk defeats Billy Goelz to unify the National Wrestling Association and National Wrestling Alliace Junior Heavyweight Titles

1960 – Pancho Villa defeats Lee Fields for the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama

1963 – John & Chris Tolos defeat Killer Kowalski & Gorilla Monsoon to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles

1968 – The Crusher & Dick the Bruiser defeated Mitsu Arakawa & Dr. Moto (Tor Kamata) to win the AWA World Tag Team Titles in Chicago, Il.

1972 – Rip Hawk defeats Jerry Brisco to win  the NWA Eastern States Heavyweight Title in Greensboro, North Carolina

1979 – Jose Lothario & El Hacon defeat Gino Hernandez & El Gran Markus to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1980 – Kerry von Erich defeats Gino Hernandez to win the vacant WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1984 – The Cobra defeats Black Tiger to win the vacant WWF Junior Heavyweight Title

1984 – Terry Taylor defeats Eddie Gilbert to win the CWA International Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1992 – Ron and Don Harris defeat The Moondogs (Spike and Spot) for the USWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1998- Scott Steiner defeated Konnan to win the WCW World Television Title on WCW Monday Nitro


Happy birthday to former WWF and WCW wrestler Lanny Poffo (59), womens indy regular Ariel (29), current TNA Knockout Taryn Terrell (28), & 6-time IWGP Heavyweight Champion Tatsumi Fujinami (60)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply