This Day In Wrestling History- December 27th

Dec 27, 2013 - by staff


1987- Vader makes his debut in New Japan Pro Wrestling,knocking out Antonio Inoki with a powerslam. At the Sumo Hall in Tokyo. The crowd rioted, resulting in New Japan being banned from running events at Sumo Hall for over a year. Vader immediately skyrocketed to the top of New Japan, as it had been years since Inoki had lost a match via clean pinfall.


In 1989, WWF No Holds Barred: The Movie/The Match aired on PPV. The PPV consisted of the No Holds Barred movie starring Hulk Hogan in its entirety, followed by Hulk Hogan & Brutus Beefcake defeating Randy Savage & Zeus in a Cage Match.


In 1993, WCW Starrcade: 10th Anniversary was held in Charlotte, North Carolina. The 10th anniversary of the Starrcade event, but only the 6th promoted by WCW

— Paul Orndorff & Paul Roma defeated Marcus Bagwell & 2 Cold Scorpio

-Shockmaster defeated King Kong

-Cactus Jack & Max Payne defeated Tex Slashinger & Shanghai Pierce

– Lord Steven Regal fought Ricky Steamboat to a time-limit draw to retain the WCW Television Title
– Steve Austin defeats Dustin Rhodes in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to win the WCW United States Title
– Rick Rude defeats The Boss to retain the WCW International World Title
– Sting & Road Warrior Hawk defeat The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) by DQ (The Nastys retain the WCW Tag Team Titles)
– Ric Flair defeats Vader in a Title vs Career Match to win the WCW World Title

In 1994, WCW Starrcade: Triple Threat was held in Nashville, Tennessee

– Vader defeats Jim Duggan to win the WCW United States Title
– Alex Wright defeats Jean-Paul Levesque
– Johnny B Badd defeats Arn Anderson to retain the WCW Television Title
– The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) defeat Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) by DQ (Heat retain the WCW Tag Team Titles)
– Hulk Hogan defeats The Butcher to retain the WCW World Title

In 1995, WCW Starrcade: World Cup of Wrestling was held in Nashville, Tennessee. This event featured 7 WCW vs NJPW matches with the overall winning promotion receiving the World Cup of Wrestling

– Jushin Liger defeats Chris Benoit (NJPW 1-0 WCW)
– Koji Kanemoto defeats Alex Wright (2-0)
– Lex Luger defeats Masa Chono (2-1)
– Johnny B Badd defeats Masa Saito (2-2)
– Shinjiro Otani defeats Eddy Guerrero (3-2)
– Randy Savage defeats Hiroyoshi Tenzan (3-3)
– Sting defeats Kensuke Sasaki to win the World Cup of Wrestling for WCW
– Ric Flair defeats Lex Luger & Sting by countout in a Triangle Match
– Ric Flair defeats Randy Savage to win the WCW World Title
– One Man Gang defeats Kensuke Sasaki to win the WCW United States Title. The match was restarted after the event went off-air, with Sasaki the winner. Neither title change was acknowledged by WCW

In 1998, WCW Starrcade was held in Washington DC

– Billy Kidman defeats Rey Misterio Jr & Juventud Guerrera in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Billy Kidman defeats Eddy Guerrero to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title

– Brian Adams & Scott Norton defeated Fit Finlay & Jerry Flynn when Norton pinned Flynn.
– WCW Television Champion Konnan defeated Chris Jericho via submission

– Norman Smiley defeated Prince Iaukea

– – Perry Saturn defeated Ernest Miller
– Eric Bischoff defeats Ric Flair

– Diamond Dallas Page defeated The Giant
– Kevin Nash defeats Goldberg in a No-DQ Match to win the WCW World Title. This was Goldberg’s first loss in WCW in 173 matches

Title Changes

1967 – Johnny Valentine defeats Joe Scarpa (Chief Jay Strongbow) to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Fl.

1986 – Terry Taylor & Jim Duggan defeat Bill Irwin & Leroy Brown to win the UWF Tag Team Titles

1987 – Greg Gagne defeats Adrian Adonis in a tournament final to become the 1st AWA International Television Champion in Las Vegas, Nevada. On the same card, Madusa Miceli defeats Candi Devine to win the AWA World Women’s Title, which had been vacant since July 1987 when champion Sherri Martel jumped to the WWF

1987 – Hiroshi Hase defeats Kuniaki Kobayashi to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

2005 – on Smackdown, MNM (Joey Mercury & Johnny Nitro) defeat Batista & Rey Mysterio to win the WWE Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 3-time WWF Tag Team Champions Bill ‘Demolition Ax’ Eadie (66), and Bart Gunn (50), former WCW & World Heavyweight Champion Bill Goldberg (47), former WWE wrestler ‘The ECW Zombie’ Tim Arson (37), Tough Enough 2011 winner Andy Leavine (26), former WWF Intercontinental and Womens Champion Chyna (43), & former TNA Knockouts Tag Team Champion Rosita (23)

Today is also the birthday of Antonio Cesaro, though sources differ on his age

Also, today would have been the birthday of one-time WCW Hardcore Champion Jerry ‘The Wall’ Tuite

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply