This Day In Wrestling History- December 23rd

Dec 23, 2013 - by staff


In 2011, ROH Final Battle was held in New York City. According to Jim Cornette, this event drew the biggest gate in ROH history up to this point

– Jay Lethal defeats El Generico & Mike Bennett in a 3-Way Dance to retain the ROH Television Title
– Kevin Steen defeats Steve Corino in a No-DQ Match with Jimmy Jacobs as special guest referee to regain his place in ROH
– The Briscoe Brothers (Jay & Mark) defeat Wrestling’s Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin) to win the ROH Tag Team Titles
– Davey Richards defeats Eddie Edwards to retain the ROH World Title

Title Changes

1955 – Bill & Fred Blassie defeat Jerry Graham & Don McIntyre to win the NWA (Georgia) World Tag Team Title in Atlanta, Georgia

1965 – Rocky Smith wins his third NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title, defeating Hiro Matsuda in a rematch to win the vacant title in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The title had been held up a week prior after a match between the 2

1968 – Karl von Stronheim & Treacherous Phillips defeat Danny Hodge & Lorenzo Parente in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1971 – Bob Roop defeats Ole Anderson in Tampa, Florida for the NWA Florida Television Title

1972 – Bobo Brazil defeats Pampero Firpo to win the NWA (Detroit) United States Heavyweight Title in Detroit, Michigan

1975 – Rocky Johnson defeats King Curtis Iaukea to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Florida

1983 – Curt Hennig & Pat (Scott) McGhee defeat The Assassin & The Dynamite for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title in Eugene, Oregon

1985 – Mark Youngblood defeats Jack Victory to win the WCCW Television Title

1999 – Mike Awesome defeats Masato Tanaka to win the ECW World Title

2006 – Tatsuhito Takaiwa defeats Takashi Sugiura to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title

2006 – Homicide defeats Bryan Danielson to win the ROH World Title


Happy birthday to Chikara Young Lions Cup IV winner Arik Cannon (32), former WWE Cruiserweight and ROH World Champion Jamie Noble (37), 3-time AWA Women’s Champion Nanae Takahashi (35), current AJPW Unified Tag Team Champion Manabu Soya (29) and Japanese legend Keiji Mutoh (51)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply