Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History: December 22nd


1997- WCW Monday Night defeated WWF Monday Night Raw in the ratings 3.5 to 3.1

2008- NBC canceled American Gladiators, which was hosted by Hulk Hogan



1997- WWF aired Monday Night Raw (taped 12/11)

-The Headbangers defeated The Godwinns via DQ

-Undertaker defeated Intercontinental Champion Rocky Maivia via DQ

-Marc Mero defeated Scott Taylor

-Kurrgan defeated Eight Ball

-Ken Shamrock defeated D’Lo Brown

-In the Main event Triple H defeated Shawn Michaels to win the WWF Europen Title. After Michaels laid down & allowed Triple H to pin him. After WWF Commissioner Sgt. Slaughter started the show ordering  Shawn Michaels to defend the WWF European Title against DX partner Triple H


1997-  WCW Aired Monday Nitro, with these results:

-Buff Bagwell defeated Chris Jericho

-Harlem Heat defeated Scotty Riggs & Lodi

-U.S. Champion Curt Hennig defeated Television Champion Disco Inferno Non title

- Rick Steiner defeated Scott Norton via DQ

- Chris Benoit defeated Van Hammer via DQ

- Rey Mysterio Jr., Juventud Guerrera & Hector Garza defeated La Parka, Psicosis & Silver King

-Steve McMichael defeated Meng

- Fit Finlay defeated Cruiserweight Champion Eddie Guerrero via countout

- Randy Savage defeated Lex Luger


Title Changes

1917 – Wladek Zbyszko defeats Ed “Strangler” Lewis in a tournament final to win the World Heavyweight Championship in New York City, New York

1941 – Wild Red Berry defeats Billy Varga to win the NWA World Light Heavyweight Title in Hollywood, California

1969 – Mr. Saito defeats Dale Lewis to win the Florida Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Florida

1979 – Dory Funk, Jr. & Terry Funk defeat Invaders I and II for the WWC Tag Team Title in Bayamonn, Puerto Rico

2000 – on Smackdown, Raven defeats Steve Blackman to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2000 – Mike Rapada defeats Sabu to win the NWA World Title

2001 – A.J. Styles defeats Rick Michaels for the NWA Wildside Heavyweight Title in Cornelia, Georgia

2002 – Taro (Kevin Lyon) defeats Super Dragon to win the Revolution Pro Wrestling Junior Heavyweight Title in City of Industry, California

2008 – on Smackdown, Maryse defeats Michelle McCool with Maria as special guest referee to win the WWE Divas Title

2008 – Ultimo Guerrero defeats Dos Caras Jr to win the CMLL World Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to Former WWE & TNA wrestler Drew ‘Luke Gallows/DOC’ Hankinson (30), 3-time NWA World Tag Team Champion Chris Nelson (39) & current WWE wrestler Sin Cara (31)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. Steven says:

    Which sin cara would this be

Leave a Reply



Will Spike TV renew Impact Wrestling's contract?

Loading ... Loading ...

Are you a WWE Network subscriber?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Scott Hall be inducted into the GERWECK.NET hall of fame?

Loading ... Loading ...