This Day In Wrestling History- December 19th

Dec 19, 2013 - by staff


1985 – Dusty Rhodes defeats Buddy Landel in Albuquerque, New Mexico for the NWA National Heavyweight Title. This was a fictitious match made up by Rhodes, who was booking Georgia Championship Wrestling at the time, after firing Landel due to his drug problems


In 1977  The WWWF held an event before 22,085 fans at Madison Square Garden in New York City, New York, which was televised on the MSG Network. The results:

– S.D. Jones and Baron Mikel Scicluna fought to a 15-minute time-limit draw
– The Golden Terror and Dominic DeNucci fought to a double-countout. This match did not air on MSG, with a match from Australia between NWA World Heavyweight Champion Harley Race and Rick Martel showing instead
– Butcher Vachon defeated Johnny Rivera (subbing for Victor Rivera)
– Arnold Skaaland defeated Lou Albano via countout
– Bob Backlund defeated Mr. Fuji (with Freddie Blassie)
– Mil Máscaras (with Bob Backlund) defeated WWWF Heavyweight Champion Superstar Billy Graham by referee stoppage.
– Dusty Rhodes defeated Stan Stasiak
– Chief Jay Strongbow defeated WWWF Tag Team Champion Prof. Toru Tanaka via disqualification.
– Tony Garea and Larry Zbyszko defeated Jack Evans and Larry Sharpe, 2-1, in a Best-of-Three Falls match

1992 – ECW held an event at Morrisville High School in Morrisville, Pennsylvania:

– Max Thrasher defeated J.T. Smith
– Chris Michaels and Damian Stone defeated Tony Stetson and Larry Winters via countout
– Tommy Cairo defeated The Samoan Warrior
– ECW Heavyweight Champion Mr. Sandman defeated The Rockin’ Rebel by disqualification to retain the title
– ECW Television Champion Glenn Osbourne defeated The Canadian Wolfman to retain the title
– The Hell Riders defeated ECW Tag Team Champions The Super Destroyers by disqualification. The Destroyers retained the title
– J.T. Smith won an 11-man battle royal
– Davey Boy Smith defeated Jimmy Snuka

1998 – ECW held an event at the ECW Arena in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:

– Nova defeated Steve Corino
– Yoshihiro Tajiri defeated Antifaz del Norte
– The FBI (Little Guido Maritato & Tracy Smothers) defeated Danny Doring & Roadkill
– Lance Storm defeated Rex King and Wolfie D in a Three-Way Dance.
– Spike Dudley defeated Skull Von Krush
– ECW World Tag Team and Television Champion Rob Van Dam defeated Balls Mahoney to retain the TV title
– The Dudleys (Big Dick, Buh-Buh Ray, & D-Von) defeated Mike Lozansky, The One Man Gang, & Rod Price
– ECW World Tag Team Champion Sabu defeated Justin Credible & FTW Champion Taz in a Three-Way Dance to win the title. Taz pinned Credible and Sabu pinned Taz
– ECW World Heavyweight Champion Shane Douglas defeated Lance Storm to retain the title

1999, WCW Starrcade was held in Washington DC. This event featured the match in which Bret Hart suffered his career-ending concussion:

– The Mamulukes (Big Vito & Johnny The Bull) (w/ Tony Marinara) defeated Disco Inferno & Lash LeRoux
– Madusa defeats Evan Karagias (w/ Spice) to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Norman Smiley defeats Meng to retain the WCW Hardcore Title
– The Revolution (Shane Douglas, Dean Malenko, Perry Saturn) (w/Asya) defeated Jim Duggan & the Varsity Club (Kevin Sullivan, Mike Rotunda, & Rick Steiner) (w/ Leia Meow)
– DDP defeated David Flair
– Vampiro defeated Oklahoma
– Kevin Nash defeated Sid Vicious in a Powerbomb Match
– Jeff Jarrett defeated Dustin Rhodes
– Sting (w/ Miss Elizabeth) defeats The Total Package via DQ
– Chris Benoit defeats Jeff Jarrett in a Ladder Match to retain the WCW United States Title
– Bret Hart defeats Goldberg in a No-DQ Match to retain the WCW World Title, though the title would be vacated on the following Nitro due to the controversial finish of the match

2005 – WWE’s third-annual “Holiday with the Troops” show airs on USA. The show, taped December 9 at Bagram Air Base in Bagram, Afghanistan, earned a 3.7 rating:

–  World Tag Team Champion The Big Show defeated Carlito after a chokeslam
– Mick Foley defeated JBL in a No Holds Barred match with the Mandible Claw
– Snitsky defeated Shelton Benjamin
– WWE Champion John Cena defeated Chris Masters after the FU
– WWE Intercontinental Champion Ric Flair defeated Jonathan Coachman via submission with the figure-four leglock to retain the title
– Candice Michelle & Maria defeated WWE Women’s Champion Trish Stratus & Ashley, when Candice pinned Ashley with a roll-up
– Shawn Michaels defeated Triple H in a Boot Camp match, after the Sweet Chin Music

In 2009, ROH Final Battle, held in New York City, was the 1st ROH PPV to be broadcast live. Due to a blizzard causing travel problems, the card was subject to several last minute changes:

– Eddie Kingston defeats Chris Hero in a Fight Without Honor
– The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay) defeat The American Wolves (Eddie Edwards & Davey Richards) to win the ROH Tag Team Titles
– Jack Evans defeats Teddy Hart in an Unsanctioned Match with Julius Smokes as special guest referee
– Austin Aries fought Tyler Black to a one-hour time limit draw to retain the ROH World Title

In 2010, WWE TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs was held in Houston, Texas:

Dark match:
– Daniel Bryan defeats Ted DiBiase to retain the WWE United States Title
– Dolph Ziggler defeats Kofi Kingston & Jack Swagger in a Triple Threat Ladder Match to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Natalya & Beth Phoenix defeat Lay-Cool (Michelle McCool & Layla) in a Tag Team Tables Match
– Santino Marella & Vladimir Kozlov defeat The Nexus (Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel) by DQ to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– John Morrison defeats Sheamus in a Ladder Match
– The Miz defeats Randy Orton in a Tables Match to retain the WWE Title
– Edge defeats Kane, Rey Mysterio & Alberto Del Rio in a Fatal 4 Way TLC Match to win the World Heavyweight Title
– John Cena defeats Wade Barrett in a Chairs Match

Title Changes

1939 – Billy Weidner wins a tournament in Dayton, Ohio to become the first Midwest Wrestling Association World Junior Heavyweight Champion

1957 – Dory Funk wins the Amarillo NWA North American Heavyweight Title for the third time by defeating Danny Plechas in Amarillo, Texas

1963 – Sonny Myers and Pat O’Connor defeat The Mongolian Stomper and Mike Sharpe in a tournament final in Kansas City, Kansas to become the first Central States NWA North American Tag Team Champions

1970 – Giant Baba defeats Gene Kiniski to win the NWA International Heavyweight Title

1973 – Ken Mantell defeats Danny Hodge to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1984 – Ricky and Rocky Johnson defeat Super Fly Tui and Super Samoan Sakalia to win the NWA Polynesian Pacific Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii. This ended Sakalia and Tui’s second reign

1998 – Sabu defeats Taz to win the ECW FTW Title

2000 – on Smackdown, Edge & Christian defeat The Rock & The Undertaker with Kurt Angle as special guest referee to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2007 – Colt Cabana defeats Shawn Spears in Louisville, Kentucky for control of their OVW Southern Tag Team Title, and chose Charles Evans as his new partner


Happy birthday to one-time AWA International Champion Erik Watts (46), indy’s female wrestler Ann Brookstone (35)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former FMW owner Shoichi Arai (48)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply