Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – December 10th


1972 – Ric Flair makes his professional wrestling debut

1980 – Antonio Inoki & Bob Backlund win the first NJPW MSG Tag League, defeating Hulk Hogan & Stan Hansen in the final

1981 – Andre The Giant & Rene Goulet win the NJPW MSG Tag League, defeating Antonio Inoki & Tatsumi Fujinami in the final

1982 – Hulk Hogan & Antonio Inoki win the NJPW MSG Tag League, defeating Killer Khan & Tiger Toguchi in the final


In 2000, WWF Armageddon was held in Birmingham, Alabama

– Eddie Guerrero, Perry Saturnm & Dean Malenko defeated The Hardy Boyz & Lita in an elimination match.

– Val Venis defeated Chyna

– William Regal defeats Hardcore Holly to retain the WWF European Title

-Chris Jericho defeated Kane in a Last Man Standing match
– Edge & Christian defeat Road Dogg & K-Kwik, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) & Right To Censor (Bull Buchanan & The Goodfather) in a Fatal Four Way Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Chris Benoit defeats Billy Gunn to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Ivory defeats Trish Stratus & Molly Holly in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWF Womens Title
– Kurt Angle defeats Steve Austin, Triple H, The Undertaker, The Rock & Rikishi in an Armageddon Hell In A Cell Match to retain the WWF Title. Rikishi was thrown from the top of the cell onto a truck bed in this match

In 2006, TNA Turning Point was held in Orlando, Florida

– Eric Young defeats Miss Brooks in a Bikini Contest
– Christopher Daniels defeats Chris Sabin with Jerry Lynn as special guest referee to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm) in a Flag Match
– Abyss defeats Sting & Christian Cage in a 3-Way Dance to retain the NWA World Title
– Samoa Joe defeats Kurt Angle

Title Changes

1930 – Ed Don George defeats Gus Sonnenberg to win the World Heavyweight Title

1962 – Tony Borne defeats Bull Curry to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1968 – Danny Miller defeats The Spoiler to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1973 – Bruno Sammartino defeats Stan Stasiak to become the first multiple-time WWWF Champion

1975 – Terry Funk defeats Jack Brisco to win the NWA World Title

1979 – Mark Lewin defeats David von Erich to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1994 – Kenta Kobashi & Mitsuharu Misawa win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League to win the vacant AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1999 – Genichiro Tenryu defeats Keiji Mutoh to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

1999 – Universo 2000 defeats Rayo de Jalisco Jr to win the CMLL World Heavyweight Title. Interestingly, this is the first title change (between champion and challenger) in the 8-year history of the belt to happen in the winter

2000 – Super Crazy defeats Sean Hill to win the IWA Junior Heavyweight Title in Moca, Puerto Rico.

2006 – Mitsuharu Misawa defeats Naomichi Marufuji to win the GHC Heavyweight Title

2007 – on Raw’s 15th Anniversary Show, Hardcore Holly & Cody Rhodes defeat Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch to win the World Tag Team Titles

2010 – Christopher Daniels defeats Eddie Edwards to win the ROH Television Title


Happy birthday to 2-time TNA X-Division Champion Matt Bentley, also known as Michael Shane (34), current WWE wrestler JTG (29) and one-time WWF Light Heavyweight Champion Essa Rios/Mr Aguila (35)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF developmental talent and ECWA Super 8 Winner Steve Bradley (38)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Loading ... Loading ...

Should Lisa Marie Varon be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...

Which roster should John Cena be on after the draft?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...