Today In Wrestling History- December 8th

Dec 8, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1983 – Antonio Inoki & Hulk Hogan win the NJPW MSG Tag League, defeating Adrian Adonis & Dick Murdoch in the final. Andre The Giant & Stan Hansen actually won the league segment, but Hansen was injured and could not compete in the final, therefore it was contested between the 2nd and 3rd placed teams instead

1997 – Masahiro Chono & Keiji Mutoh win the NJPW Super Grade Tag League, defeating Shinya Hashimoto & Manabu Nakanishi in the final

2005 – It is announced that WWE Diva Stacy Keibler would be a contestant on the second season of ABC’s “Dancing With The Stars”.  After appearing on the show and making it to the final episode, Keibler would never appear in WWE again.

2008 – Satoshi Kojima & Hiroyoshi Tenzan win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League, defeating Shuji Kondo & Suwama in the ‘final’ after both teams tied on 9 points


In 2008, the first of the revived WWE Slammy Awards was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– Chris Jericho wins Superstar of the Year
– Ric Flair vs Shawn Michaels from Wrestlemania XXIV wins Match of the Year
– Beth Phoenix wins Diva of the Year
– CM Punk cashing in his Money In The Bank wins OMG Moment of the Year
– Edge & Vickie Guerrero win Couple of the Year
– John Morrison & The Miz win Tag Team of the Year
– Evan Bourne’s Air Bourne wins Finisher of the Year
– Jeff Hardy’s Swanton on Randy Orton from the top of the set wins Extreme Moment of the Year
– Vladimir Kozlov wins Breakout Star of the Year

Title Changes

1966 – Spiros Arion & Tony Parisi defeat Baron Mikel Scicluna & Smasher Sloan to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles

1980 – Pedro Morales defeats Ken Patera to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

1994 – Harlem Heat defeat Stars n Stripes to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

1997 – on Nitro, Disco Inferno defeats Perry Saturn to win the WCW Television Title

1997 – on Raw, Steve Austin hands the WWF Intercontinental Title to The Rock

2001 – Psicosis defeats Juventud Guerrera to win the WWA International Cruiserweight Title

2007 – Wataru Inoue defeats Ryusuke Taguchi to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former NWA Junior Heavyweight Champions Jerelle Clark (38) and Jimmy Rave (31), former WWF manager ‘The Doctor of Style’ Slick (56), former WWF and Stampede wrestler Gama Singh (59), retired Joshi star Chigusa ‘Lady Zero’ Nagayo (49), 5-time AJPW Triple Crown Champion Toshiaki Kawada (50) and current WWE announcer Michael Cole (45)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply