This Day In Wrestling History – November 26th‏

Nov 26, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1987, the first ever WWF Survivor Series was held in Richfield, Ohio

– Team Savage (Randy Savage, Jake Roberts, Ricky Steamboat, Brutus Beefcake & Jim Duggan) defeat Team Honky Tonk (The Honky Tonk Man, Hercules, Danny Davis, Ron Bass & Harley Race) in a Survivor Series Match with Savage, Roberts & Steamboat surviving
– Team Moolah (The Fabulous Moolah, Rockin Robin, Velvet McIntyre, Itsuki Yamazaki & Noriyo Tateno) defeat Team Sherri (Sensational Sherri, Leilani Kai, Judy Martin, Donna Christanello & Dawn Marie) with Yamazaki & Tateno surviving
– Team Andre (Andre The Giant, One Man Gang, King Kong Bundy, Butch Reed & Slick) defeat Team Hogan (Hulk Hogan, Paul Orndorff, Don Muraco, Ken Patera & Bam Bam Bigelow) with Andre as the lone survivor

Also in 1987, NWA Starrcade was held in Chicago, Illinois. This was the final Starrcade to be promoted by JCP, though it would remain under the NWA banner for a further 3 years. This was a notable event in the WWF vs NWA war; the WWF had begun holding events on pay-per-view and had been very successful doing so. In response, the NWA decided to promote this event as it’s first PPV. However, WWF threatened that any PPV carrier who broadcast Starrcade instead of (or even alongside) Survivor Series would not be allowed to broadcast Wrestlemania IV. This led to Survivor Series demolishing Starrcade in the buyrates as very few carriers picked it up

– Steve Williams defeats Barry Windham to retain the UWF Heavyweight Title
– The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeat The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) in a Skywalkers (Scaffold) Match
– Nikita Koloff defeats Terry Taylor to unify the UWF and NWA Television Titles
– Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard defeat The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) to retain the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– Dusty Rhodes defeats Lex Luger in a Cage Match to win the NWA United States Title
– Ric Flair defeats Ron Garvin in a Cage Match to win the NWA World Title

In 1995, the first WCW World War 3 was held in Norfolk, Virginia. The highlight of this event (and all future WW3 events) was a 3-ring, 60-man over the top rope Battle Royal

– Johnny B Badd defeats Diamond Dallas Page to retain the WCW Television Title and win the services of The Diamond Doll
– Kensuke Sasaki defeats Chris Benoit to retain the WCW United States Title
– Lex Luger defeats Randy Savage
– Sting defeats Ric Flair
– Randy Savage wins the World War 3 Battle Royal, last eliminating One Man Gang (Hulk Hogan was the actual last elimination, but he was taken out by the already-eliminated The Giant while the referee’s back was turned). As a result, Savage wins the vacant WCW World Title

In 2000, the 2nd and final WCW Mayhem was held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

– Mike Sanders defeats Kwee Wee to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Crowbar defeats Reno & Big Vito in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WCW Hardcore Title
– General Rection defeats Lance Storm to win the WCW United States Title
– The Insiders (Kevin Nash & Diamond Dallas Page) defeat The Perfect Event (Chuck Palumbo & Shawn Stasiak) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Goldberg defeats Lex Luger
– Scott Steiner defeats Booker T in a Straight Jacket Cage Match to win the WCW World Title

In 2006, WWE Survivor Series, held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, saw the last WWE appearance of Lita

– The WWE Legends (Ric Flair, Sgt Slaughter, Dusty Rhodes & Ron Simmons) defeat The Spirit Squad (Kenny, Johnny, Mikey & Nicky) in a Survivor Series Match with Flair as the lone survivor
– Chris Benoit defeats Chavo Guerrero to retain the WWE United States Title
– Mickie James defeats Lita to win the WWE Womens Title
– Team DX (Triple H, Shawn Michaels, Jeff Hardy, Matt Hardy & CM Punk) defeat Team Rated-RKO (Edge, Randy Orton, Johnny Nitro, Mike Knox & Gregory Helms) in a Survivor Series Match with all of Team DX surviving
– Mr Kennedy defeats The Undertaker in a First Blood Match
– Team Cena (John Cena, Kane, Bobby Lashley, Sabu & Rob Van Dam) defeat Team Big Show (The Big Show, Test, MVP, Finlay & Umaga) in a Survivor Series Match with Cena & Lashley surviving
– Batista defeats King Booker to win the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1960 – The Fabulous Kangaroos (Al Costello & Roy Heffernan) defeat Johnny Valentine & Buddy Rogers to win the NWA Northeast United States Tag Team Titles

1975 – Bill Watts defeats Karl Kox to win the TSW North American Title

1982 – The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy & Michael Hayes) defeat King Kong Bundy & Bill Irwin to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1990 – Danny Davis defeats Ken Wayne to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1992 – The Heavenly Bodies (Stan Lane & Tom Prichard) defeat The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) in a Falls Count Anywhere Match to win the SMW Tag Team Titles

1994 – Diesel defeats Bob Backlund to win his first WWF Title. The match is the shortest WWF Title Match in history, lasting around 8 seconds


Happy birthday to the first Tough Enough winner Maven (37), one-time NWA Tag Team Champion Brian Lee (47), WWE Hall of Famer Blackjack Mulligan (71) and 3-time WWF Womens Champion Ivory (52)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply