This Day In Wrestling History – November 18th‏

Nov 18, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1992, WCW Clash of the Champions XXI was held in Macon, Georgia

– Scotty Flamingo defeats Johnny B Badd in a Boxing Match
– Ron Simmons & 2 Cold Scorpio defeat Tony Atlas, The Barbarian & Cactus Jack in a Handicap Match
– Sting defeats Rick Rude by judges’ decision in the King of Cable Tournament semi-final
– Ricky Steamboat & Shane Douglas defeat Barry Windham & Dustin Rhodes to win the NWA & WCW Tag Team Titles

In 2001, WWF Survivor Series was held in Greensboro, North Carolina. It signaled the end of the Invasion angle

– Christian defeats Al Snow to retain the WWF European Title
– Edge defeats Test to unify the WWF Intercontinental and WCW United States Titles
– The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeat The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) in a Cage Match to unify the WWF & WCW Tag Team Titles
– Test wins an Immunity Battle Royal, last eliminating Billy Gunn
– Trish Stratus defeats Lita, Jacqueline, Mighty Molly, Jazz & Ivory in a 6-Pack Challenge to win the vacant WWF Womens Title
– Team WWF (The Rock, Chris Jericho, The Undertaker, Kane & The Big Show) defeat Team Alliance (Steve Austin, Kurt Angle, Rob Van Dam, Booker T & Shane McMahon) in a Survivor Series Match with The Rock as the lone survivor

In 2007, WWE Survivor Series was held in Miami, Florida

– CM Punk defeats John Morrison & The Miz in a Triple Threat Match to retain the ECW Title
– Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch defeat Hardcore Holly & Cody Rhodes to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Randy Orton defeats Shawn Michaels to retain the WWE Title. Michaels was not allowed to use the Superkick in this match, however, Michaels would have won the title had Orton been disqualified
– Batista defeats The Undertaker in a Hell In A Cell Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title

In 2012, WWE Survivor Series was held in Indianapolis, Indiana

– Eve defeats Kaitlyn to retain the WWE Divas Title
– Antonio Cesaro defeats R-Truth to retain the WWE United States Title
– Sheamus defeats The Big Show by DQ (Show retains the World Heavyweight Title)
– Team Ziggler (Dolph Ziggler, Damien Sandow, David Otunga, Wade Barrett & Alberto Del Rio) defeat Team Foley (The Miz, Kofi Kingston, Kane, Daniel Bryan & Randy Orton) in a Survivor Series Match with Ziggler as the lone survivor
– CM Punk defeats John Cena & Ryback in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1938 – Jim Londos defeats Bronko Nagurski to win the World Heavyweight Title

1978 – Mike George & Randy Tyler defeat Jerry Brown & Bobby Jaggers to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

2011 – Dragon Rojo Jr defeats Jushin Liger to win the CMLL World Middleweight Title


Happy birthday to Japanese regulars Taiyo Kea (38) and Tomoaki Honma (37)

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply