This Day In Wrestling History – November 8th‏

Nov 8, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1992 – The final WWF Saturday Night’s Main Event is broadcast on Fox. The show was resurrected nearly 14 years later but only lasted 5 episodes


In 2009, NJPW Destruction was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Tiger Mask defeats Mistico to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) fought Bad Intentions (Karl Anderson & Giant Bernard) to a double countout to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Masato Tanaka defeats Hirooki Goto
– Togi Makabe defeats Takashi Iizuka in a Chain Death Match
– Shinsuke Nakamura defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1967 – Billy Red Lyons wins a tournament to win the vacant Texas Heavyweight Title

1975 – Louis Cerdan & Tony Parisi defeat The Blackjacks (Lanza & Mulligan) to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1975 – Nick Bockwinkel defeats Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1980 – Tony Garea & Rick Martel defeat The Wild Samoans (Afa & Sika) to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Nitro, Scott Hall defeats Bret Hart, Sid Vicious & Goldberg in a 4-Way Ladder Match to win the WCW United States Title

1999 – on Raw, The New Age Outlaws (Road Dogg & Billy Gunn) defeat Mankind & Al Snow to win the WWF Tag Team Titles. The Outlaws become the first team to hold the WWF Tag Team Titles 5 times

2000 – on Thunder, Crowbar defeats Reno to win the WCW Hardcore Title

2009 – Tiger Mask IV defeats Mistico to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to 2-time World Tag Team Champion Ted DiBiase Jr (31) and current IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada (26)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply