Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – October 27th‏


In 1990, NWA Halloween Havoc was held in Chicago, Illinois. This was the final NWA Havoc event, with future events being promoted by WCW exclusively

– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) to retain the NWA United States Tag Team Titles
– Doom (Ron Simmons & Butch Reed) fought Ric Flair & Arn Anderson to a double countout to retain the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– Stan Hansen defeats Lex Luger to win the NWA United States Title
– Sting defeats Sid Vicious to retain the NWA World Title. The match featured the first ‘Switcheroo Sting’, where a wrestler impersonating Sting (on the wish of Sting’s opponent) wrestled some of the match

In 1991, WCW Halloween Havoc was held in Chattanooga, Tennessee

– El Gigante, Sting & The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat Abdullah The Butcher, The Diamond Studd, Cactus Jack & Big Van Vader in a Chamber of Horrors Match
– Steve Austin fought Dustin Rhodes to a time-limit draw to retain the WCW Television Title
– Brian Pillman defeats Richard Morton in the final of a tournament to become the first WCW Light Heavyweight Champion
– The Enforcers (Larry Zbyszko & Arn Anderson) defeat The Patriots (Todd Champion & Firebreaker Chip) to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Lex Luger defeats Ron Simmons in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 1996, WCW Halloween Havoc was held in Las Vegas, Nevada. The event featured the WCW debut of Roddy Piper

– Dean Malenko defeats Rey Misterio Jr to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– The Outsiders (Scott Hall & Kevin Nash) defeat Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Hollywood Hogan defeats Randy Savage to retain the WCW World Title

In 2002, AJPW’s 30th Anniversary Show was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Kaz Hayashi & Jimmy Yang defeat Hideki Hosaka & Gran Naniwa
– Steve Williams, Mike Rotunda & Johnny Smith defeat Yoji Anjoh, Mitsuya Nagai & Ryuji Hijikata
– Abdullah The Butcher & Terry Funk defeat Tarzan Goto & Tomoaki Honma
– Agnes Kamen defeats Kendo Kashin
– Satoshi Kojima defeats Hiroshi Hase
– Keiji Mutoh defeats Genichiro Tenryu to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1977 – Ciclon Negro & Dr X defeat Porkchop Cash & Ray Candy to win the vacant TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1984 – Chris Adams, Gino Hernandez & Jake Roberts defeat The Von Erichs (Kerry, Mike & Bobby Fulton (subbing for Kevin)) to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles

1987 – Strike Force (Rick Martel & Tito Santana) defeat The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart & Jim Neidhart) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1992 – Shawn Michaels defeats The British Bulldog to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2002 – The Great Muta defeats Genichiro Tenryu to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2003 – on Raw, Chris Jericho defeats Rob Van Dam to win the WWE Intercontinental Title. Immediately after the match, Sheriff Steve Austin came out and ordered that Jericho’s first rematch would be against Van Dam in a Cage Match. Van Dam defeats Jericho to regain the title

2007 – Yoshinobu Kanemaru defeats Mushiking Terry to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title. Also, Naomichi Marufuji & Takashi Sugiura defeat D’Lo Brown & Buchanan to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2008 – on Raw, CM Punk & Kofi Kingston defeat Legacy (Ted DiBiase Jr & Cody Rhodes) to win the World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWF manager and one-time WWF Womens Champion Harvey ‘Hervina’ Wippleman (47), current Dragon Gate Tag Champion Eita Kobayashi (22) and UK indy regular Stixx (32)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Who wins at Money in the Bank?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

With WWE returning to the brand split, should WWE have one or two world heavyweight champions?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Joey Styles be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...