This Day In Wrestling History – October 25th‏

Oct 25, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1992, WCW Halloween Havoc was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– Big Van Vader defeats Nikita Koloff in a No-DQ Match to retain the WCW United States Title for Rick Rude, who complained about having to wrestle twice
– Barry Windham & Dustin Rhodes fought Steve Williams & Steve Austin (subbing for the no-showing Terry Gordy) to a time-limit draw to retain the NWA & WCW Tag Team Titles
– Rick Rude defeats Masahiro Chono by DQ with Harley Race & Kensuke Sasaki as special guest referees (Chono retains the NWA World Title)
– Ron Simmons defeats The Barbarian to retain the WCW World Title
– Sting defeats Jake Roberts in a Coal Miner’s Glove Match

In 1998, WCW Halloween Havoc was held in Las Vegas, Nevada

– Chris Jericho defeats Raven to retain the WCW Television Title
– Billy Kidman defeats Disco Inferno to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Rick Steiner & Buff Bagwell defeat Scott Steiner (subbing for Scott Hall) & The Giant to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles. Bagwell turned on Rick during the match
– Bret Hart defeats Sting to retain the WCW United States Title
– Hollywood Hogan defeats The Warrior
– Goldberg defeats Diamond Dallas Page to retain the WCW World Title. The PPV feed cut out before the finish of this match, so WCW aired it again on the following Nitro

In 2009, the first WWE Bragging Rights was held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It featured a series of interpromotional matches, with the overall winning brand receiving the Bragging Rights Trophy

– In a dark match, Christian defeats Paul Burchill to retain the ECW Title
– The Miz defeats John Morrison to put Raw 1-0 up in the 3-match series
– The Smackdown Divas (Michelle McCool, Beth Phoenix & Natalya) defeat The Raw Divas (Melina, Kelly Kelly & Gail Kim) in a 6-Diva Tag Team Match to level the series at 1-1
– The Undertaker defeats CM Punk, Rey Mysterio & Batista in a Fatal Four Way Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Team Smackdown (Chris Jericho, Kane, R-Truth, Matt Hardy, Finlay, David Hart Smith & Tyson Kidd) defeat Team Raw (Triple H, Shawn Michaels, The Big Show, Cody Rhodes, Jack Swagger, Kofi Kingston & Mark Henry) to win the Bragging Rights Trophy 2-1
– John Cena defeats Randy Orton in a 60-Minute No-DQ Iron Man Match to win the WWE Title. Had Cena lost, he would have been forced to leave Raw

Title Changes

1972 – Jose Lothario defeats Stan Stasiak to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1981 – Kerry von Erich & Terry Orndorff defeat Tim Brooks & Arman Hussein to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Nitro, Bret Hart defeats Goldberg to win the WCW United States Title. Also, Konnan & Billy Kidman defeat Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Raw, Ivory defeats The Fabulous Moolah to win the WWF Womens Title

1999 – Tamon Honda & Masao Inoue defeat Maunakea Mossman & Johnny Smith in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2005 – on Smackdown, MNM (Joey Mercury & Johnny Nitro) defeat Paul Burchill & William Regal, The Legion Of Doom (Road Warrior Animal & Heidenreich) & The Mexicools (Psicosis & Super Crazy) in a Fatal Four Way Match to win the WWE Tag Team Titles

2005 – Jeff Jarrett defeats Rhino to win the NWA World Title

2008 – Blue Demon Jr defeats Adam Pearce to become the first Mexican to hold the NWA World Title

2010 – on Raw, Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel defeat David Otunga & John Cena (both teams representing The Nexus) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles. Otunga was forced to lay down for Slater & Gabriel by Nexus leader Wade Barrett


Happy birthday to former WCW and ECW Tag Team Champion Perry Saturn (47), WWE Diva Rosa Mendes (34), one-time Mexican National Heavyweight Champion Latin Lover (46), former WCW, ECW and GHC Tag Team Champion 2 Cold Scorpio (48) and FMW founder Atsushi Onita (56)

(Visited 6 times, 2 visits today)

Leave a Reply