This Day In Wrestling History – October 23rd‏

Oct 23, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2006 – WWE Raw airs it’s 700th episode, becoming the longest running weekly entertainment show without a hiatus in TV history

2008 – TNA begins broadcasting in HD


In 1994, WCW Halloween Havoc was held in Detroit, Michigan

– Johnny B Badd fought The Honky Tonk Man to a time-limit draw to retain the WCW Television Title
– Pretty Wonderful defeat Stars n Stripes to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Jim Duggan defeats Steve Austin by DQ to retain the WCW United States Title
– Hulk Hogan defeats Ric Flair with Mr T as special guest referee in a Career vs Career Match inside a Cage to retain the WCW World Title and force Flair to retire

In 2005, TNA Bound For Glory was the first TNA PPV where a paid ticket was available. Universal Studios does not allow charging for attendance, so the ticket was to gain access to a pre-show and preferential seating

– Samoa Joe defeats Jushin Liger
– Petey Williams defeats Chris Sabin & Matt Bentley in an Ultimate X Match
– America’s Most Wanted (James Storm & Chris Harris) defeat The Naturals (Chase Stevens & Andy Douglas) to win the NWA Tag Team Titles
– Rhino defeats Abyss, Sabu & Jeff Hardy in a Monster’s Ball Match
– AJ Styles defeats Christopher Daniels in an Iron Man Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Rhino wins a 10-Man Battle Royal to earn an NWA World Title Match
– Rhino defeats Jeff Jarrett with Tito Ortiz as special guest referee to win the NWA World Title

In 2011, WWE Vengeance was held in San Antonio, Texas. This was the first Vengeance event since 2007

– Air Boom (Evan Bourne & Kofi Kingston) defeat Jack Swagger & Dolph Ziggler to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Dolph Ziggler defeats Zack Ryder to retain the WWE United States Title
– Beth Phoenix defeats Eve Torres to retain the WWE Divas Title
– Awesome Truth (The Miz & R-Truth) defeat Triple H & CM Punk
– Mark Henry fought The Big Show to a no contest to retain the World Heavyweight Title after the ring collapsed following Henry superplexing Show
– Alberto Del Rio defeats John Cena in a Last Man Standing Match (broken ring and all) to retain the WWE Title

Also in 2011, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 13 was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Daisuke Sekimoto & Yuji Okabayashi defeat Seiya Sanada & Manabu Soya to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles
– Kenny Omega defeats KAI to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– The Dark Carnival (Dark Ozz & Dark Cuervo) defeat The Great Muta & KENSO to win the AJPW Tag Team Titles
– Jun Akiyama defeats Suwama to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1967 – Spoiler #1 & Gary Hart defeat Brute Bernard & Mike Paidousis to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1988 – Jerry Lawler defeats Kerry von Erich to win the WCCW World Heavyweight Title

1989 – The Soultaker defeats Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1995 – Alundra Blayze defeats Bertha Faye to win the WWF Womens Title. This would be the final reign before the title was deactivated in December

1999 – Jun Akiyama & Kenta Kobashi defeat Mitsuharu Misawa & Yoshinari Ogawa to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2000 – Los COnquistadors (The Hardy Boyz in disguise) defeat Edge & Christian to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2001 – BATT (Keiji Mutoh & Taiyo Kea) defeat Osamu Nishimura & Tatsumi Fujinami to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

2001 – on Smackdown, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeat The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles. They would be the final champions as the titles were unified with their WWF equivalents a month later

2002 – AJ Styles defeats Syxx-Pac to win the TNA X-Division Title

2008 – Booker T unveils the TNA Legends Title and proclaims himself the first champion. Also, Awesome Kong defeats Taylor Wilde to win the TNA Womens Title

2011 – All 4 AJPW Titles change hands. Jun Akiyama defeats Suwama to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title, Dark Cuervo & Dark Ozz defeat The Great Muta & KENSO to win the AJPW Unified Tag Team Titles, Kenny Omega defeats KAI to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title and Daisuke Sekimoto & Yuji Okabayashi defeat Manabu Soya & Seiya Sanada to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 3-time WCW Tag Team Champions Ron & Don Harris (53) and 2-time NWA Junior Heavyweight Champion Tony Kozina (43)

In Memoriam

On this day in 2000, the wrestling world lost WWE Hall of Famer Yokozuna aged just 34. In his early career, Yoko toured both Japan and Mexico before gaining his first major exposure in the AWA, where he competed as Kokina Maximus. Perhaps his biggest AWA storyline was kayfabe ending the career of Greg Gagne by breaking his leg. In 1992, Vince McMahon came calling and Yoko joined the WWF, where he quickly ascended to the upper card. In 1993, Yoko won both of his two WWF Championships; the first came (and went) at WrestleMania IX, but a longer reign would follow, starting at King of the Ring. This reign would last until WrestleMania X, where Yoko became the first heel to retain the WWF Championship at the event, though would lose his second defence of the night to Bret Hart. Following this title run, Yoko slipped down the card into the tag team division, but as he continued to gain weight, his in-ring skills naturally suffered. His 6-year run in the WWF came to an end in 1998 when he failed the New York State Athletic Commission’s physical test, forcing him to be released. His indy career was short and uneventful, indeed his final major appearance came at the infamous Heroes of Wrestling PPV, where he was estimated to weigh 760lbs and stated that he was looking to gain further weight. He died in Liverpool, England whilst on an independent tour of Europe after fluid had built up in his lungs during his sleep. He was posthumously inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame in 2012

(Visited 12 times, 9 visits today)

Leave a Reply