This Day In Wrestling History – October 17th‏

Oct 17, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1991 – Tatsumi Fujinami & Big Van Vader win the NJPW Super Grade Tag League, defeating Riki Choshu & Masa Saito in the final


In 1999, WWF No Mercy was held in Cleveland, Ohio. Jeff Jarrett’s contract had expired the night before and he supposedly demanded (and received) a figure between $300,000 and $500,000 to compete in his match. He left the WWF for WCW immediately after

– The Fabulous Moolah defeats Ivory to win the WWF Womens Title
– Chyna defeats Jeff Jarrett in a Good Housekeeping Match to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The New Brood (Matt & Jeff Hardy) defeat Edge & Christian in a $100,000 Ladder Match
– Triple H defeats Steve Austin in an Anything Goes Match to retain the WWF Title

In 2004, the NWA 56th Anniversary Show was held across two days in Winnipeg, Canada. This was night two. Only 100 people attended the show

– Chasyn Rance defeats Mark Stephens to become the first NWA Spinebuster Junior Heavyweight Champion
– Steve Jaworski defeats Tank Roberts to retain the CWF Heavyweight Title
– Gino Martino defeats Dave Drako to retain the NWA New England Brass Knuckles Title
– Jason Rumble defeats Jerrelle Clark & Vance Desmond in a 3-Way Dance to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title
– Petey Williams defeats Kenny Omega to retain the TNA X-Division Title

Title Changes

1982 – Jimmy Valiant defeats Ivan Koloff to win the NWA Television Title

1988 – The Samoan SWAT Team (Samu & Fatu) defeat Michael Hayes & Steve Cox to win the WCCW World Tag Team Titles

1992 – Todd Champion defeats Butch Reed to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title. Also, Miss Texas defeats Moondog Fifi to win the USWA Womens Title

1997 – Universo 2000 defeats Cien Caras & Rayo de Jalisco Jr in a 3-Way Match to win the vacant CMLL World Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to one-time WCW United States Champion Steve McMichael (56) and 2-time NWA Television Champion Baron von Raschke (73)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply