This Day In Wrestling History – October 10th‏

Oct 10, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 2003, the NWA 55th Anniversary Show was held over two nights in Parkersburg, West Virgina. This was night one

– Kevin Rhodes defeats CB Kool to win the NWA Florida Junior Heavyweight Title
– The Hawaiian Power Company (Kapu & Tiki) defeat Chris Cavanaugh & Cholo to retain the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Titles
– Spyder defeats Fergal Devitt to become the first NWA British Commonwealth Heavyweight Champion
– Ricky Murdock defeats Shane Somers to retain the NWA National Heavyweight Title and win the NWA Missouri Heavyweight Title
– Chance Prophet defeats Trik Nasty to retain the NWA Bluegrass Heavyweight Title

In 2010, TNA Bound For Glory was held in Daytona Beach, Florida

– The Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin) defeat Generation Me (Max & Jeremy Buck) to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Tara defeats Angelina Love, Velvet Sky & Madison Rayne in a Four Corners Match with Mickie James as special guest referee to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Jay Lethal defeats Douglas Williams to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Rob Van Dam defeats Abyss in a Monster’s Ball Match
– EV2.0 (Tommy Dreamer, Raven, Rhino, Sabu & Stevie Richards) defeat Fortune (AJ Styles, Kazarian, Matt Morgan, James Storm & Robert Roode) in a Lethal Lockdown Match
– Jeff Hardy defeats Mr Anderson & Kurt Angle in a 3-Way No DQ Match to win the vacant TNA World Title

In 2011, NJPW Destruction was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Hirooki Goto & Tama Tonga defeat Shinsuke Nakamura & Ultimo Guerrero
– The No Remorse Corps (Davey Richards & Rocky Romero) defeat Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Taguchi to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Masato Tanaka defeats MVP to win the IWGP Intercontinental Title
– Minoru Suzuki defeats Togi Makabe
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Tetsuya Naito to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1960 – Don Kent defeats Chief Little Eagle to win the vacant TSW Oklahoma Junior Heavyweight Title

1974 – Stan Hansen & Frank Goodish defeat Johnny Eagle & Terry Latham to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1978 – The Fabulous Moolah defeats Evelyn Stephens to win the NWA Womens Title. Current WWE Title Histories do not recognise this change

1998 – The Border Patrol (Agent Gunn & Agent Maxx) defeat Barry Windham & Tully Blanchard to win the NWA Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Thunder, Chris Benoit & Perry Saturn defeat The Jersey Triad to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

2003 – Kintaro Kanemura & Tetsuhiro Kuroda defeat Kohei Sato & Hirotaka Yokoi to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2006 – on Smackdown, Chris Benoit defeats Mr Kennedy to win the WWE United States Title


Happy birthday to former CZW regular Joker (30)

Today would have been the birthday of British legend Giant Haystacks, who briefly competed in WCW as Loch Ness (67)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply