This Day In Wrestling History – October 1st‏

Oct 1, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2005 – TNA Impact makes it’s debut on Spike TV

2007 – Sting is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 77% of the reader votes

2008 – Mick Foley is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 80% of the reader votes

2010 – Ted DiBiase is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 87% of the reader votes

2010 – WWE Smackdown begins airing on Syfy


In 1993, the CMLL 60th Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City

– Jaque Mate, Kahos I & Javier Cruz defeat Los Brazos (El Brazo, Brazo de Oro & Brazo de Plata) by DQ
– Vampiro, Pegasus Kid & King Haku defeat Mocho Cota, Pierroth Jr & Black Magic by DQ
– Negro Casas defeats La Fiera in a Hair vs Hair Match
– Atlantis defeats Mano Negra in a Mask vs Mask Match

In 2000, ECW Anarchy Rulz was held in Saint Paul, Minnesota

– Danny Doring & Amish Roadkill defeat Christian York & Joey Matthews
– Da Baldies (Angel & Tony DeVito) defeat Balls Mahoney & Chilly Willy
– The FBI (Little Guido & Tony Mamaluke) defeat Yoshihiro Tajiri & Mikey Whipwreck to retain the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Rhino defeats Rob Van Dam to retain the ECW Television Title
– Jerry Lynn defeats Justin Credible to win the ECW World Title

In 2010, AAA Heroes Inmortales IV was held in Ciudad Madero, Mexico

– Takashi Sugiura defeats Chessman to retain the GHC Heavyweight Title
– Faby Apache & Pimpinela Escarlata defeat La Legion Extranjera (Alex Koslov & Christina Von Eerie) to win the AAA Mixed Tag Team Titles
– Aero Star won the Copa Antonio Pena in a Torneo Cibernetico Match also featuring Chris Stone, El Elegido, Laredo Kid, Decnis, Alan Stone, Billy Boy & Super Fly
– Dr Wagner Jr defeats Silver King to retain the AAA Heavyweight Title
– Legado AAA (Dark Cuervo, Dark Ozz, Heavy Metal & La Parka) defeat La Sociedad (Electroshock, El Zorro, Hernandez & LA Park) in an Elimination Cage Match

Title Changes

1993 – Johnny Hotbody & Tony Stetson are awarded the ECW Tag Team Titles

2005 – Sal Rinauro & Tony Mamaluke defeat BJ Whitmer & Jimmy Jacobs to win the ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWE and All Japan Tag Team Champion Rico (52), ROH co-founder Rob Feinstein (41), former NWA President Bob Geigel (89), current WWE Intercontinental Champion Curtis Axel (34), one-time TNA X-Divsion and Television Champion Robbie E (30), one-time AWA Tag Team Champion Hector Guerrero (59) and former TNA personality Leticia Cline (35)

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply