This Day In Wrestling History – September 28th

Sep 28, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2010 – WWE NXT ends its run on Syfy, moving to the following week


In 1985, AWA SuperClash was held in Chicago, Illinois

– Sgt Slaughter defeats Boris Zhukov by DQ to retain the AWA Americas Title
– Sherri Martel defeats Candi Devine to win the AWA Womens Title
– Kerry Von Erich defeats Jimmy Garvin to retain the Texas Heavyweight Title
– The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) defeat The Freebirds (Terry Gordy & Michael Hayes) by DQ to retain the AWA Tag Team Titles
– Steve Regal defeats Brad Rheingans to retain the AWA Junior Heavyweight Title
– Ric Flair defeats Magnum TA to retain the NWA World Title
– Rick Martel fought Stan Hansen to a double-DQ to retain the AWA World Title

In 2001, the CMLL 68th Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City. This was the first Anniversary Show to be shown on PPV

– Dr X, Virus & Mr Mexico defeat Ricky Marvin, El Sicodelico Jr & Tigre Blanco
– Black Warrior, Apolo Dantes & Shocker defeat Atlantis, Brazo de Plata & Felino
– Olimpico, Mr Niebla & Safari defeat Gran Markus Jr, Violencia & Poder Boricua to retain the Mexican Trios Titles
– Dr Wagner Jr, Universo 2000, Juventud Guerrera & Fuerza Guerrera defeat Lizmark Jr, Negro Casas, Villano IV & Black Tiger
– Mascara Magica lost a 6-man ‘infierno en el ring’ elimination match and was forced to unmask

In 2003, AAA Verano de Escandalo was held in Jalisco, Mexico. This was the third and final VdE event this year

– Alan, Billy Boy, Decniss, Cuervo, Ozz & Scoria fought a Hair vs Hair Cage Match. However, referee Piero was caught trying to fix the match, so was forced to shave his head instead
– Abismo Negro, Charly Manson & Juventud Guerrera defeat Electroshock, El Alebrije & El Oriental
– El Zorro defeats Mr Aguila to become the UWA and Mexican National Heavyweight Champion
– Octagon, Latin Lover & Heavy Metal defeat Pirata Morgan, El Brazo & El Texano
– La Parka defeats Cibernetico in a Street Fight

In 2007, the CMLL 74th Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City

– Ultimo Dragon, La Mascara & Volador Jr defeat El Hijo del Texano, Misterioso II & Virus
– Alex Koslov, Sagrado & La Sombra defeat Ephesto, Sangre Azteca & Toscano
– Marco Corleone, Negro Casas & Rey Bucanero defeat Averno, Mephisto & Olimpico
– Lizmark Jr lost an 8-man ‘infierno en el ring’ match and was forced to unmask

Title Changes

1976 – Pat Barret defeats Nelson Royal in the final of a tournament to win the vacant NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1979 – Mike George wins a Battle Royal, last eliminating Buck Robley to become the first MSW Tag Team Champion. He chose Bob Sweetan to defend the titles with him

1982 – Mr Olympia defeats Killer Khan to win the MSW Mississippi Title

1986 – Krusher Khruschev & Ivan Koloff defeat The Kansas Jayhawks (Dutch Mantel & Bobby Jaggers) to win the NWA United States Tag Team Titles

1986 – Buddy Roberts defeats Terry Taylor to win the UWF Television Title

2006 – Wild Child (Manabu Nakanishi & Takao Omori) defeat Shiro Koshinaka & Togi Makabe to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

2008 – The Great Muta defeats Suwama to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title. Also, Naomichi Marufuji defeats Ryuji Hijikata to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to 6-time WWF Hardcore Champion Steve Blackman (50), current CMLL Tag Team Champion Atlantis (51) and Japanese tag team legend Jado (45)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply