This Day In Wrestling History – September 27th

Sep 27, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – Maven & Nidia win WWF Tough Enough series 1


In 1936, the EMLL Third Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City

– Maravilla Enmascarada defeats Bobby Pearce
– Pocho Aguirre defeats Ben Ali Mar Allah
– Chimuelo Campos defeats Jimmy el Apolo
– Chong Yip defeats Bobby Bonales

In 1998, WWF Breakdown: In Your House was held in Hamilton, Canada

– Bradshaw defeats Vader in a Falls Count Anywhere Match
– The Rock defeats Ken Shamrock & Mankind in a Triple Threat Cage Match
– D-Generation X (Billy Gunn, Road Dogg & X-Pac) defeat Jeff Jarrett & Southern Justice (Mark Canterbury & Dennis Knight) in a 6-Man Tag Team Match
– The Undertaker & Kane defeat Steve Austin in a Triple Threat Match by double pinfall. As a result, Austin’s WWF Title is vacated

Title Changes

1977 – Porkchop Cash & Dr X defeat The Medics (1 & 2) to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1982 – The Rat Pack (Ted DiBiase & Matt Borne) defeat Junkyard Dog & Mr Olympia to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1985 – Brian Adias defeats Gino Hernandez to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1986 – The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) defeat Eddie Gilbert & Sting to win the UWF Tag Team Titles

1993 – Razor Ramon defeats Rick Martel to win the vacant WWF Intercontinental Title

1994 – Norio Honaga defeats Pegasus Kid in the final of a tournament to win the vacant IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1995 – on Nitro, Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeat The American Males to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

2009 – Shinsuke Nakamura defeats Togi Makabe to win the vacant IWGP Heavyweight Title

2012 – Samoa Joe defeats Mr Anderson to win the TNA Television Title


As far as I’m aware, there are no significant birthdays today

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply