This Day In Wrestling History – September 17th‏

Sep 17, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1982, the EMLL 49th Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City

– Perro Aguayo defeats Tony Salazar in a Hair vs Hair Match
– Halcon Ortiz defeats Dr Wagner to retain the Mexican Heavyweight Title

In 1995, WCW Fall Brawl was held in Asheville, North Carolina

– Diamond Dallas Page defeats The Renegade to win the WCW Television Title
– Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeat Bunkhouse Buck & Dick Slater to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Arn Anderson defeats Ric Flair
– The Hulkamaniacs (Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Lex Luger & Sting) defeat The Dungeon of Doom (Kamala, The Zodiac, The Shark & Meng) in a WarGames Match

In 1999, AAA Verando de Escandalo was held in Mexico City

– Abismo Negro, Electroshock, Pentagon II & Gran Apache defeat El Alebrije, El Felino, Path Finder & Oscar Sevilla by DQ
– Los Vipers (Mosco de la Merced, Histeria, Psicosis II & Maniaco) defeat Los Junior Atomicos (La Parka Jr, Perro Aguayo Jr, Blue Demon Jr & Mascara Sagrada Jr) to win the Mexican National Atomicos Title
– El Canek, Perro Aguayo & Latin Lover defeat Sangre Chicana, Cibernetico & Pirata Morgan
– Heavy Metal & Octagon defeat Jaque Mate & Kick Boxer in a Mask vs Hair Cage Match. Kick Boxer was the final man left in the cage, so was forced to unmask

In 2000, the final WCW Fall Brawl was held in Buffalo, New York

– Elix Skipper defeats Kwee Wee to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Lance Storm defeats General Rection with Jim Duggan as special guest enforcer to retain the WCW United States Title
– Shane Douglas & Torrie Wilson defeat Billy Kidman & Madusa in a Scaffold Match
– Sting defeats The Great Muta & Vampiro in a Triangle Match
– Scott Steiner defeats Goldberg in a No-DQ Match
– Booker T defeats Kevin Nash in a Caged Heat Match to win the WCW World Title

In 2004, the CMLL 71st Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City

– Atlantis, Blue Panther & Mascara Sagrada defeat Pierroth Jr, Tarzan Boy & Vampiro
– Ultimo Guerrero defeats LA Park to retain the CMLL Light Heavyweight Title
– Perro Aguayo Jr, Damian El Terrible & Hector Garza defeat El Hijo Del Santo, Negro Casas & Shocker
– Universo 2000 lost a 4-Way Mask vs Mask Match to Rayo de Jalisco Jr, Dr Wagner Jr & El Canek

In 2006, WWE Unforgiven was a Raw-exclusive event and featured the final match for Trish Stratus in her active wrestling career. It was held in Toronto, Canada

– Johnny Nitro defeats Jeff Hardy to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– The Spirit Squad (Kenny & Mikey) defeat The Highlanders (Robbie & Rory McAllister) to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– D-Generation X (Triple H & Shawn Michaels) defeat Vince McMahon, Shane McMahon & The Big Show in a Handicap Hell In A Cell Match
– Trish Stratus defeats Lita to win the WWE Womens Title
– John Cena defeats Edge in a TLC Match to win the WWE Title

Also in 2006, AAA Verano de Escandalo was held in Naucalpan, Mexico

– Laredo Kid defeats Gran Apache & Kaoma Jr in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the Lucha por una Suena tournament
– The Mexican Powers (Crazy Boy, Joe Lider, Juventud Guerrera & Psicosis II) defeat The Black Family (Chessman, Dark Cuervo, Dark Escoria & Dark Ozz)
– Team TNA (Homicide, Low Ki, Samoa Joe & AJ Styles) defeat Abismo Negro, Charly Manson, Electroshock & Histeria by DQ
– Team TNA (Low Ki, Samoe Joe & AJ Styles) defeat The Mexican Powers (Crazy Boy, Joe Lider & Juventud Guerrera)
– Gronda II, Octagon & La Parka defeat La Legion Extranjera (Abyss, Jeff Jarrett & Konnan) by DQ

In 2011, ROH Death Before Dishonor IX was held in New York City

– The Young Bucks (Matt & Nick Jackson) defeat Future Shock (Adam Cole & Kyle O’Reilly) & The Bravado Brothers (Harlem & Lancelot) in a 3-Way Elimination Match
– El Generico fought Jimmy Jacobs to a no contest
– Eddie Edwards defeats Roderick Strong in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match
– The All Night Express (Kenny King & Rhett Titus) defeat The Briscoe Brothers (Jay & Mark) in Ladder War III

Title Changes

1966 – Bette Boucher defeats The Fabulous Moolah to win the NWA Womens Title. Current WWE Title Histories do not recognise this change

1974 – Wrestling Pro defeats Ken Mantell to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title. This change is only recognised in the Gulf Coast region

1979 – The Spoiler & Mark Lewin defeat Kerry von Erich & Bruiser Brody to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1981 – Ric Flair defeats Dusty Rhodes to win the NWA World Title

2001 – on Raw, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeat The Brothers Of Destruction (The Undertaker & Kane) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2005 – Bryan Danielson defeats James Gibson to win the ROH World Title

2006 – Averno defeats Negro Casas to win the CMLL World Middleweight Title


Happy birthday to 4-time World Class Television Champion Bill ‘The Goon’ Irwin (59), 7-time IWGP Tag Team Champion Masahiro Chono (50), legendary manager Jim Cornette (52) and founder of ROH, Evolve and DragonGate USA Gabe Sapolsky (41)

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply