This Day In Wrestling History – September 13th‏

Sep 13, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – WWE presents the 9/11 Tribute Show on Smackdown


In 1998, WCW Fall Brawl: War Games was held in Winston-Salem, North Carolina

– Chris Jericho defeats a fake Goldberg to retain the WCW Television Title
– Juventud Guerrera defeats Silver King to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Perry Saturn defeats Raven in a Raven’s Rules Match to free The Flock
– Team WCW (Diamond Dallas Page, Roddy Piper & The Warrior) defeat nWo Hollywood (Hulk Hogan, Bret Hart & Stevie Ray) & nWo Wolfpac (Kevin Nash, Sting & Lex Luger) in a WarGames Match. This was the first WarGames Match where pinfalls were allowed and indeed, it ended with Page pinning Ray

In 2002, the CMLL 69th Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City

– Brazo de Plata, Atlantis & Rayo de Jalisco Jr defeat Cien Caras, Universo 2000 & Dr Wagner Jr by DQ
– Pierroth Jr defeats Mascara Ano 2000 by DQ
– Ultimo Guerrero & Rey Bucanero defeat Vampiro & Shocker to retain the CMLL Tag Team Titles
– Tarzan Boy defeats Negro Casas in a Hair vs Hair Match

In 2009, the first WWE Breaking Point was held in Montreal, Canada. This was the second of WWE’s new match-specific PPV’s, with this one focusing on the submission match and its variants

– Jeri-Show (Chris Jericho & The Big Show) defeat MVP & Mark Henry to retain the WWE Unified Tag Team Titles
– Kofi Kingston defeats The Miz to retain the WWE United States Title
– The Legacy (Cody Rhodes & Ted DiBiase) defeat D-Generation X (Triple H & Shawn Michaels) in a Submissions Count Anywhere Match
– Christian defeats William Regal to retain the ECW Title
– John Cena defeats Randy Orton in an I Quit Match to win the WWE Title
– CM Punk defeats The Undertaker in a Submission Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1987 – Eric Embry defeats Peter Vander Graling to become the first WCCW World Light Heavyweight Champion

1993 – on Raw, The Quebecers (Pierre & Jacques) defeat The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) in a Province of Quebec Rules Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1993 – Tatanka defeats Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1993 – Robert Gibson defeats Jimmy Del Ray to win the SMW Television Title, but is immediately defeated by The Dirty White Boy

1998 – Rayo de Jalisco Jr defeats Universo 2000 to win the CMLL World Heavyweight Title, thus becoming the first two-time champion

1999 – on Nitro, Chris Benoit defeats Rick Steiner to win the WCW Television Title

2007 – Takeshi Rikio & Jun Akiyama vacate the GHC Tag Team Titles after Rikio suffers a neck injury


Happy birthday to 5-time TNA Knockouts Champion Angelina Love (32) and former Nitro Girls The Klimaszewski Twins, Diane and Elaine (42)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply