This Day In Wrestling History – August 31st‏

Aug 31, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1998 – WCW Nitro achieves it’s highest ever TV rating with a 6.0. Less than two months later, it would beat Raw in the ratings for the final time

2010 – Kaval wins WWE NXT Season 2

2011 – Booker T is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 80% of the vote

2012 – El Terrible wins the CMLL Universal Championship Tournament, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi in the final


In 2002, All Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan

– Abdullah The Butcher & Kendo Kashin defeat Yoji Anjoh & Mitsuya Nagai
– KroniK (Brian Adams & Bryan Clark) defeat Tomoaki Honma & Yuto Aijima
– Satoshi Kojima defeats Nobutaka Araya
– Bill Goldberg defeats Taiyo Kea
– Genichiro Tenryu, Steve Williams, Arashi, Koki Kitahara & Masao Orihara defeat Keiji Mutoh, Hiroshi Hase, Jinsei Shinzaki, George Hines & Kaz Hayashi in an Elimination Match with Tenryu & Williams surviving

In 2003, AAA Verano de Escandalo was held in Monterrey, Mexico. This was the first of 3 VdE events this year

– Charly Manson, Hator, Mr Aguila & Juventud Guerrera defeat Electroshock, X-Fly, Silver Star & Pimpinela Escarlata
– Latin Lover & La Parka defeat Cibernetico & Hector Garza
– El Brazo lost a Hair vs Hair Cage Match to Heavy Metal, Oscar Sevilla, Sangre Chicana, El Texano & El Zorro

In 2008, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 5 was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Ryuji Hijikata defeats KAI to retain the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Satoshi Kojima & Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeat Taru & Togi Makabe
– Keiji Mutoh defeats Hirooki Goto to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title
– Suwama fought Taiyo Kea to a time-limit draw to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1968 – Verne Gagne defeats Dr X to win the AWA World Title

1983 – Jumbo Tsuruta defeats Bruiser Brody to win the NWA International Heavyweight Title

1986 – Eddie Gilbert & Sting defeat The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) to win the vacant UWF Tag Team Titles

1987 – Ted Arcidi wins a Battle Royal to win the vacant WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title

1996 – Jamie Dundee defeats Wolfie D to win the USWA Television Title

1997 – Kensuke Sasaki defeats Shinya Hashimoto to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WWE and TNA World Champion Jeff Hardy (36), 2-time AJPW All Asia Tag Team Champion Animal Hamaguchi (66), former WWE wrestler John ‘Tank’ Toland (33) and current TNA Knockouts Champion Mickie James (34)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 2-time NWA Television Champion Jos LeDuc (69)

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply