This Day In Wrestling History – August 29th‏

Aug 29, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1988, the first ever WWF Summerslam was held in New York City

– The Ultimate Warrior defeats The Honky Tonk Man to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Demolition (Ax & Smash) defeat The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart & Jim Neidhart) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– The Mega Powers (Hulk Hogan & Randy Savage) defeat The Mega Bucks (Andre The Giant & Ted DiBiase) with Jesse Ventura as special guest referee

In 1992, WWF Summerslam was held in London, England and as such, didn’t air in the USA for another 2 days. It is on record as the largest verified attendance in WWF/E history with 80,355 (Wrestlemania III is said to have attracted 93,173 fans, but this figure is disputed, with some sources putting it around 78,000)

– Shawn Michaels fought Rick Martel to a double countout in a match where neither man was allowed to hit the other in the face
– The Natural Disasters (Earthquake & Typhoon) defeat The Beverly Brothers (Blake & Beau) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– The Ultimate Warrior defeats Randy Savage by countout (Savage retains the WWF Title)
– The British Bulldog defeats Bret Hart to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

In 1994, WWF Summerslam was held in Chicago, Illinois. Leslie Nielsen and George Kennedy (of ‘The Naked Gun’ fame) appeared in-character at the event, trying to solve the mystery of the two Undertakers.

– Alundra Blayze defeats Bull Nakano to retain the WWF Womens Title
– Razor Ramon defeats Diesel to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Bret Hart defeats Owen Hart in a Cage Match to retain the WWF Title
– The Undertaker defeats The Fake Undertaker

In 2010, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 10 was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Osamu Nishimura & Masanobu Fuchi defeat Antonio Thomas & Hiroshi Yamato
– Seiya Sanada & Manabu Soya defeat Taru & Big Daddy Voodoo to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles
– KENSO defeats The Great Muta
– Kaz Hayashi defeats Jimmy Yang to retain the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Suwama defeats Minoru Suzuki to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1982 – Otto Wanz defeats Nick Bockwinkel to win the AWA World Title. Amazingly, this is the first time in the 22-year history of the AWA World Title that a title change did not involve either Mad Dog Vachon or Verne Gagne

1988 – Ashura Hara & Genichiro Tenryu defeat Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1997 – Emilio Charles Jr & Dr Wagner Jr defeat Atlantis & Brazo de Plata in the final of a tournament to win the CMLL Tag Team titles

2000 – on Smackdown, Al Snow defeats Perry Saturn to win the WWF European Title

2002 – Tsuyoshi Kikuchi & Yoshinobu Kanemura defeat Jushin Liger & Minoru Tanaka to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2006 – on Smackdown, Mr Kennedy defeats Finlay & Bobby Lashley in a Triple Threat Match to win the WWE United States Title


Happy birthday to 4-time AJPW Heavyweight Champion Stan Hansen (64) and former WWE and TNA wrestler Nick ‘Sinn/Kizarny’ Cvjetkovich (40)

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply