This Day In Wrestling History – August 26th

Aug 26, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1999 – WWF Smackdown begins airing on UPN

2002 – Tonight on Raw, the WWE Undisputed Title is separated into the WWE and World Heavyweight Titles once more. The WWE Title would stay with Brock Lesnar on Smackdown, while the World Heavyweight Title would remain vacant on Raw for now


In 1991, WWF Summerslam featured the ‘wedding’ of Randy Savage & Miss Elizabeth (in reality they had already been married around 7 years). The event also marked the final appearances of The Ultimate Warrior (for now) and Sgt Slaughter’s Iraqi sympathiser gimmick. It was held in New York City

– Bret Hart defeats Mr Perfect to win the WWF Intercontinental Title – Virgil defeats Ted DiBiase to win the Million Dollar Title – The Big Boss Man defeats The Mountie in a Jailhouse Match – The Legion Of Doom (Hawk & Animal) defeat The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) in a Street Fight to win the WWF Tag Team Titles – Hulk Hogan & The Ultimate Warrior defeat Sgt Slaughter, Colonel Mustafa & General Adnan in a Handicap Match with Sid Justice as special guest referee

In 2007, WWE Summerslam was held in East Rutherford, New Jersey

– Umaga defeats Carlito & Mr Kennedy in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title – John Morrison defeats CM Punk to retain the ECW Title – Batista defeats The Great Khali by DQ (Khali retains the World Heavyweight Title) – John Cena defeats Randy Orton to retain the WWE Title

Also in 2007, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 3 was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Katsuhiko Nakajima defeats Chris Sabin to retain the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title – The Great Muta & Yoshihiro Tajiri defeat Suwama & Scott Steiner – Satoshi Kojima & Taru defeat Toshiaki Kawada& Taiyo Kea to win the AJPW Tag Team Titles – Kensuke Sasaki defeats Minoru Suzuki to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1975 – The Blackjacks (Lanza & Mulligan) defeat Dominic DeNucci & Pat Barrett to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1979 – Harley Race defeats Dusty Rhodes to win the NWA World Title

1991 – The Dragon Master defeats Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1999 – The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) defeat Spike Dudley & Balls Mahoney to win the ECW Tag Team Titles, but would lose them later in the night to Tommy Dreamer & Raven

2000 – The Full Blooded Italians (Tony Mamaluke & Little Guido) defeat Yoshihiro Tajiri & Mikey Whipwreck to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

2002 – on Raw, Rob Van Dam defeats Tommy Dreamer to unify the WWE Intercontinental and Hardcore Titles. The Hardcore Title is discontinued


Happy birthday to 2-time TNA X-Division Champion Petey Williams (32)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WCW and ECW wrestler Bobby Duncum Jr (48)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply