This Day In Wrestling History – August 17th‏

Aug 17, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2003 – Hiroyoshi Tenzan wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Jun Akiyama in the final


In 1997, ECW Hardcore Heaven was held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. It was the third Hardcore Heaven event, but the first to air on PPV

– Taz defeats Chris Candido to retain the ECW Television Titles
– The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) defeat The Gangstas (New Jack & Mustafa Saed) by forfeit to win the ECW Tag Team Titles
– The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) defeat PG-13 (JC Ice & Wolfie D) to retain the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Tommy Dreamer defeats Jerry Lawler
– Shane Douglas defeats Sabu & Terry Funk in a 3-Way Dance to win the ECW World Title

In 2008, WWE Summerslam was held in Indianapolis, Indiana

– Glamarella (Santino Marella & Beth Phoenix) defeat Kofi Kingston & Mickie James to win the WWE Intercontinental Title for Marella and the WWE Womens Title for Phoenix
– Matt Hardy defeats Mark Henry by DQ (Henry retains the ECW Title)
– CM Punk defeats JBL to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Triple H defeats The Great Khali to retain the WWE Title
– The Undertaker defeats Edge in a Hell In A Cell Match

Also in 2008, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan

– Hirooki Goto defeats Yuji Nagata
– Togi Makabe defeats Satoshi Kojima
– Toru Yano, Takashi Iizuka, Jado, Gedo & Karl Anderson defeat Manabu Nakanishi, Tiger Mask IV, Ryusuke Taguchi, Yujiro & Tetsuya Naito
– Hirooki Goto defeats Togi Makabe to win the G1 Climax Tournament

Title Changes

1968 – Dr X defeats Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1986 – Nikita Koloff defeats Magnum TA to win the vacant NWA United States Title

1987 – Nikita Koloff defeats Tully Blanchard to win the NWA Television Title

2002 – the WWE Hardcore Title is passed from Tommy Dreamer to Raven, to Shawn Stasiak and back to Dreamer

2002 – Jimmy Rave defeats Star to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to one-time USWA Heavyweight Champion Buddy Landel (52), current Shimmer Champion Cheerleader Melissa (31), former TNA wrestler Magno (29), current Zero1 Lightweight Tag Team Champion Susumu Yokosuka (35) and one-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Dick Togo (44)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply