This Day In Wrestling History – August 12th‏

Aug 12, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – Yuji Nagata wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Keiji Mutoh in the final

2012 – Kazuchika Okada wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Karl Anderson in the final. This final set several records; Okada became the youngest ever winner of the tournament and the first since 2008 to win it on their first attempt, whilst Anderson was the first foreigner to reach the final since Rick Rude in 1992


In 2007, TNA Hard Justice was held in Orlando, Florida

– James Storm defeats Rhino in a Bar Room Brawl
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon)
– Abyss, Andrew Martin & Sting defeat Christian’s Coalition (Christian Cage, AJ Styles & Tomko) in a Doomsday Chamber of Blood Match
– Kurt Angle defeats Samoa Joe in a Winner Take All Match to retain the TNA and IWGP World Titles and win the TNA X-Division and Tag Team Titles. Sting would later win a Four Way Match to become co-holder of the Tag Titles

Also in 2007, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan

– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Togi Makabe
– Yuji Nagata defeats Shinsuke Nakamura by TKO
– Riki Choshu & Shiro Koshinaka defeat Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Toru Yano
– Masa Chono, Giant Bernard & Akebono defeat Manabu Nakanishi, Takashi Iizuka & Naofumi Yamamoto
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Yuji Nagata to win the G1 Climax

In 2012, TNA Hardcore Justice was held in Orlando, Florida

– Rob Van Dam defeats Mr Anderson, D’Angelo Dinero & Magnus in a 4-Way Falls Count Anywhere Match
– Devon defeats Kazarian to retain the TNA Television Title
– Madison Rayne defeats Miss Tessmacher to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Bully Ray defeats James Storm, Jeff Hardy & Robbie E in a 4-Way Tables Match
– Zema Ion defeats Kenny King to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– AJ Styles defeats Christopher Daniels, Samoa Joe & Kurt Angle in a 4-Way Ladder Match
– Austin Aries defeats Bobby Roode to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1983 – The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy, Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts) defeat The Von Erichs (David, Kerry & Kevin) to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles

1983 – Tiger Mask retires from wrestling, vacating the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1988 – The Samoan SWAT Team (Samu & Fatu) defeat The Von Erichs (Kerry & Kevin) to win the WCCW World Tag Team Titles

1991 – The Patriots (Todd Champion & Firebreaker Chip) defeat The Fabulous Freebirds (Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin) to win the WCW United States Tag Team Titles

1991 – Jerry Lawler defeats Awesome Kong to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title. Also, Danny Davis defeats Bill Dundee to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1992 – Masahiro Chono defeats Rick Rude in the final of the NJPW G1 Climax tournament to win the vacant NWA World Title

1995 – Brad Armstrong defeats Buddy Landel to win the vacant SMW Heavyweight Title

1997 – Chris Jericho defeats Alex Wright to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2005 – James Gibson defeats CM Punk, Christopher Daniels & Samoa Joe in a Four Way Match to win the ROH World Title

2006 – Bryan Danielson defeats Nigel McGuinness to unify the ROH World Title and the ROH Pure Title. The Pure Title is discontinued

2011 – Hector Garza defeats Ultimo Guerrero to win the CMLL World Heavyweight Title

2012 – Hiroshi Yamato defeats KAI to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WWE personalities Brian ‘Palmer Canon’ Mailhot (38) and Jonathan Coachman (41), former NWA Junior Heavyweight Champion Terry Taylor (58) and 2-time AAA Heavyweight Champion Dr Wagner Jr (48)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply