This Day In Wrestling History – August 11th‏

Aug 11, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1990 – the AWA holds it’s final television taping

1991 – Masahiro Chono wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Keiji Mutoh in the final

2002 – Masahiro Chono wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Yoshihiro Takayama in the final


In 2012, ROH Boiling Point was held in Providence, Rhode Island

– QT Marshall defeats Matt Taven, Antonio Thomas & Vinny Marseglia in a 4-Way Match to earn an ROH contract
– The Briscoes (Mark & Jay) defeat SCUM (Jimmy Jacobs & Steve Corino) in a Tag Team War
– Eddie Edwards & Sara Del Ray defeat Mike Bennett & Maria Kanellis
– Kevin Steen defeats Eddie Kingston in an Anything Goes Match to retain the ROH World Title

Title Changes

1986 – Steve Simpson defeats Buzz Sawyer to win the WCCW Television Title

2002 – the WWE Hardcore Title is passed from Tommy Dreamer to Shawn Stasiak, to Steven Richards and back to Dreamer

2004 – Petey Williams defeats Amazing Red in the final of a Gauntlet for the Gold to win the TNA X-Division Title

2008 – on Raw, Legacy (Ted DiBiase Jr & Cody Rhodes) defeat Batista & John Cena to win the World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 12-time World Champion Hulk Hogan (60), 3-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion Norio Honaga (58) and former ECW manager Bill Alfonso (56)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply