Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – August 5th‏


In 2012, AAA TripleMania XX was held in Mexico City. The event featured the induction of Perro Aguayo into the AAA Hall of Fame

– La Hermandad 187 (Joe Lider & Psicosis) lost a Parejas Suicidas Cage Match to Chessman & Juventud Guerrera, La Familia de Tijuana (Extreme Tiger & Halloween) & The Hart Foundation 2.0 (Jack Evans & Teddy Hart)
– Psicosis defeats Joe Lider in a Hair vs Hair Match
– Team Joaquin Roldan (Electroshock & LA Park) defeat Team Dorian Roldan (Jeff Jarrett & Kurt Angle) forcing Dorian to shave his head
– El Mesias defeats El Hijo del Perro Aguayo to retain the AAA World Heavyweight Title
– Dr Wagner Jr defeats Mascara Ano 2000 Jr in a Mask vs Mask Match

Also in 2012, New Japan Pro Wrestling held their first iPPV in Osaka, Japan

– Lance Archer defeats Hiroyoshi Tenzan
– Karl Anderson defeats Shelton Benjamin
– Togi Makabe defeats Tetsuya Naito
– Shinsuke Nakamura defeats Kazuchika Okada
– Naomichi Marufuji defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi

Title Changes

1958 – Bill Longson defeats Fritz von Erich to win the vacant Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1975 – Billy Graham defeats Mad Dog Vachon to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1979 – El Halcon defeats The Spoiler to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1985 – John Tatum defeats Shawn Cody to win the vacant WCCW Television Title

1986 – Akira Maeda & Osamu Kido defeat Kengo Kimura & Tatsumi Fujinami to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1988 – King Parsons defeats Kerry von Erich (subbing for his brother Kevin) to win the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title

1991 – Big Josh, Dustin Rhodes & Tom Zenk defeat The Fabulous Freebirds (Badstreet, Jimmy Garvin & Michael Hayes) to win the WCW Six-Man Tag Team Titles

1991 – Bill Dundee defeats Danny Davis to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1993 – The Jurassic Powers (Hercules Hernandez & Scott Norton) defeat The Hell Raisers (Hawk Warrior & Power Warrior) to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1994 – The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeat Chris Candido & Brian Lee to win the SMW Tag Team Titles

1996 – The Great Sasuke wins an 8-Man Tournament to become the first holder of the J-Crown


Happy birthday to tag team legend Stan Lane (60), one-time AWA Tag Team Champion Pat Tanaka (52), former IWGP and AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion Kendo Kashin (45), current WWE wrestler Hunico (36) and one-time GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Ikuto Hidaka (41)

Also, today would have been the birthday of one-time NWA Womens Champion Mildred Burke (98)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Loading ... Loading ...

Should Lisa Marie Varon be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...

Which roster should John Cena be on after the draft?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...