This Day In Wrestling History – July 29th‏

Jul 29, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2012 – Hiroshi Yamato wins the AJPW Junior League (dubbed the ‘Junior Hyper League’ this year), defeating Shuji Kondo in the final

Title Changes

1967 – the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles are retired. The final champions were Bruno Sammartino & Spiros Arion

1974 – Arman Hussein defeats Bull Ramos to win the TSW North American Title

1977 – Ric Flair defeats Bobo Brazil to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title

1978 – Paul Orndorff defeats Stan Hansen to win the TSW North American Title

1979 – Bruiser Brody defeats Mark Lewin to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1985 – Brian Adias defeats Gino Hernandez to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1988 – Terry Gordy & Stan Hansen defeat Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1991 – Awesome Kong defeats Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

2002 – on Raw, Chris Benoit defeats Rob Van Dam to win the WWE Intercontinental Title. Also, the WWE Hardcore Title’s 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bradshaw to Johnny Stamboli to Tommy Dreamer

2010 – The TNA Global Title is renamed the TNA Television Title by champion AJ Styles


Happy birthday to WCW Triple Crown Champion Scott Steiner and Mexican star Pirata Morgan (both 51)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE Hall of Famers (interestingly, both members of the Class of ’96) Captain Lou Albano (80) and Baron Mikel Scicluna (84)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply