This Day In Wrestling History – July 26th‏

Jul 26, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1998, WWF Fully Loaded: In Your House was held in Fresno, California

– The Disciples of Apocalypse (Skull & 8-Ball) defeat LOD 2000 (Hawk & Animal)
– Owen Hart defeats Ken Shamrock in a Dungeon Match with Dan Severn as special guest referee
– The Rock fought Triple H to a time limit draw in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Undertaker & Steve Austin defeat Kane & Mankind to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

In 2005, AJPW Heavy Fighting Yoyogi was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Mazada defeats Nosawa Rongai in a Loser Leaves All Japan Match
– Toshiaki Kawada defeats Kazushi Miyamoto
– Kensuke Sasaki & Katsuhiko Nakajima defeat Shuji Kondo & Brother Yasshi to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles
– Taiyo Kea, Jamal, TAKA Michinoku & Masahiro Chono defeat Taru, Giant Bernard, Chuck Palumbo & Johnny Stamboli
– Satoshi Kojima defeats Keiji Muto to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title

In 2008, ROH New Horizons was held in Detroit, Michigan

– Nigel McGuinness defeats Claudio Castagnoli to retain the ROH World Title
– Roderick Strong & Naomichi Marufuji defeat Chris Hero & Go Shiozaki
– Bryan Danielson defeats Tyler Black

In 2009, WWE Night Of Champions was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– Chris Jericho & The Big Show defeat The Legacy (Cody Rhodes & Ted DiBiase Jr) to retain the WWE Unified Tag Team Titles
– Christian defeats Tommy Dreamer to win the ECW Title
– Kofi Kingston defeats MVP, The Miz, Carlito, Jack Swagger & Primo in a Six-Pack Challenge Match to retain the WWE United States Title
– Michelle McCool defeats Melina to retain the WWE Womens Title
– Randy Orton defeats Triple H & John Cena in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Title
– Mickie James defeats Maryse to win the WWE Divas Title
– Rey Mysterio defeats Dolph Ziggler to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Jeff Hardy defeats CM Punk to win the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1980 – Greg Valentine defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title. However, the title change is not recognised by current WWE Title Histories

1986 – Dusty Rhodes defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

1991 – Doug Furnas & Dan Kroffat defeat Billy Black & Joel Deaton to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Raw, D’Lo Brown defeats Jeff Jarrett to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2002 – the WWE Hardcore Title’s 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bradshaw to Raven, to Justin Credible, to Shawn Stasiak and back to Bradshaw


Happy birthday to 4-time USWA Heavyweight Champion Tommy Rich (57) and ROH Triple Crown Champion Roderick Strong (30)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former ECW Tag and Television Champion ‘Pitbull #2’ Anthony Durante (46)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply