This Day In Wrestling History – July 23rd‏

Jul 23, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2012 – Tonight saw the 1000th episode of WWE Raw. Several legends made appearances on the show, including The Rock, Bret Hart, Roddy Piper, Jim Duggan and DX. It also saw a few more obscure, yet still noteworthy returns, including that of Sean Mooney


In 1989, NWA’s The Great American Bash was held in Baltimore, Maryland. The event was promoted by WCW under the NWA banner

– Jim Cornette defeats Paul E Dangerously in a Tuxedo Match
– Sting defeats The Great Muta to retain the NWA Television Title, but due to controversy in the match, the title is later vacated
– Lex Luger defeats Ricky Steamboat by DQ to retain the NWA United States Title
– The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal), The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) & Steve Williams defeat The Fabulous Freebirds (Jimmy Garvin, Michael Hayes & Terry Gordy) & The Samoan Swat Team (Samu & Fatu) in a War Games Match
– Ric Flair defeats Terry Funk to retain the NWA World Title

In 1995, WWF In Your House 2: The Lumberjacks. Immediately following this PPV, both Jeff Jarrett and The Roadie quit the WWF

– Shawn Michaels defeats Jeff Jarrett to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Owen Hart & Yokozuna defeat The Allied Powers (Lex Luger & The British Bulldog) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Diesel defeats Sycho Sid in a Lumberjack Match to retain the WWF Title

In 2000, the third and final WWF Fully Loaded was held in Dallas, Texas. An event was scheduled for 2001, but was eventually replaced by the Invasion PPV

– on Heat, Steve Blackman defeats Funaki to retain the WWF Hardcore Title and Dean Malenko defeats Crash Holly to retain the WWF Light Heavyweight Title
– Perry Saturn defeats Eddie Guerrero to win the WWF European Title
– The APA (Bradshaw & Faarooq) defeat Edge & Christian by DQ (E&C retain the WWF Tag Team Titles)
– Val Venis defeats Rikishi in a Cage Match to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Triple H defeats Chris Jericho in a Last Man Standing Match
– The Rock defeats Chris Benoit to retain the WWF Title. Benoit had won the title on a DQ earlier in the match, but it was restarted by Commissioner Foley

In 2006, WWE’s The Great American Bash was held in Indianapolis, Indiana and was a Smackdown-exclusive event

– Paul London & Brian Kendrick defeat The Pitbulls (Kid Kash & Jamie Noble) to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Finlay defeats William Regal to retain the WWE United States Title
– The Undertaker defeats The Big Show in a Punjabi Prison Match
– Mr Kennedy defeats Batista by DQ
– King Booker defeats Rey Mysterio to win the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1979 – Kerry von Erich & Bruiser Brody defeat Mark Lewin & Tim Brooks to win the vacant Texas Tag Team Titles

1984 – Wendi Richter defeats The Fabulous Moolah to win the WWF Womens Title. This was Moolah’s first universally-recognized loss after a reign of 28 years

1999 – NO FEAR (Takao Omori & Yoshihiro Takayama) defeat Johnny Ace & Bart Gunn to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2001 – on Raw, Lance Storm defeats Albert to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2005 – BJ Whitmer & Jimmy Jacobs defeat The Carnage Crew (HC Loc & Tony Devito) to win the ROH Tag Team Titles

2012 – The Miz defeats Christian to win the WWE Intercontinental Title


Happy birthday to former TNA X-Division Champion Sonny Siaki (39) and the 2012 AAA Rey de Reyes Perry Aguayo Jr (34)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply