This Day In Wrestling History – July 22nd‏

Jul 22, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 2001, WWF Invasion was held in Cleveland, Ohio. It was the first PPV to feature the WCW/ECW Invasion storyline

– Earl Hebner defeats Nick Patrick with Mick Foley as special guest referee
– Rob Van Dam defeats Jeff Hardy to win the WWF Hardcore Title
– Trish Stratus & Lita defeat Torrie Wilson & Stacy Keibler in a Bra & Panties Match with Mick Foley as special guest referee
– The Alliance (Booker T, Diamond Dallas Page, Rhyno, Bubba Ray Dudley & D-Von Dudley) defeat The WWF (Steve Austin, Kurt Angle, Chris Jericho, The Undertaker & Kane) in a 10-Man Tag Team Match. Austin defected to the Alliance during the course of the match

In 2007, WWE’s The Great American Bash was held in San Jose, California

– MVP defeats Matt Hardy to retain the WWE United States Title
– Hornswoggle defeats Chavo Guerrero, Jimmy Wang Yang, Shannon Moore, Funaki & Jamie Noble in a Cruiserweight Open Match to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– Candice Michelle defeats Melina to retain the WWE Womens Title
– Umaga defeats Jeff Hardy to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– John Morrison defeats CM Punk to retain the ECW Title
– The Great Khali defeats Kane & Batista in a Triple Threat Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– John Cena defeats Bobby Lashley to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1960 – Danny Hodge defeats Angelo Savoldi to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1979 – Mark Lewin defeats Bruiser Brody to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1981 – Bob Roop defeats Super Destroyer to win the MSW Louisiana Title

1985 – Butch Reed defeats Dutch Mantel to win the MSW Television Title

1989 – Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu defeat Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1995 – Dick Slater & Bunkhouse Buck defeat Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

1997 – on Nitro, Ultimo Dragon defeats Lord Steven Regal to win the WCW Television Title

2000 – Rockford 2000 defeats Tony Kozina to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2002 – on Raw, Rob Van Dam defeats Jeff Hardy to unify the WWE European Title and the WWE Intercontinental Title. The European Title is retired

2009 – Mick Foley defeats Kevin Nash to win the TNA Legends Title

2012 – 3 title changes in NJPW. Firstly, Ten-Koji (Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima) defeat Chaos (Takashi Iizuka & Toru Yano) to win the vacant IWGP Tag Team Titles. Also, Forever Hooligans (Alex Koslov & Rocky Romero) defeat Jushin Liger & Tiger Mask IV to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles and finally, Shinsuke Nakamura defeats Hirooki Goto to win the IWGP Intercontinental Title

2012 – 2 title changes in AJPW. Firstly, Magnus & Samoa Joe defeat Akitoshi Saito & Jun Akiyama to win the GHC Tag Team Titles. Secondly, Ricky Marvin & Super Crazy defeat Atsushi Aoki & Kotaro Suzuki to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time ROH Tag and TNA X-Division Champion Kenny King (32), current WWE star Fandango (32), Dragon Gate regular Akira Tozawa (28) and WWE Hall of Famer Shawn Michaels (48)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE Hall of Famers The Fabulous Moolah (90) and David Von Erich (55) as well as famed Japanese wrestler and trainer Hiro Matsuda (76)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply