This Day In Wrestling History – July 13th

Jul 13, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1995 – Wild Pegasus wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, defeating Shinjiro Otani in the final


In 1997, WCW Bash At The Beach was held in Daytona Beach, Florida

– Mortis & Wrath defeat Glacier & Ernest Miller. This was Glacier’s first defeat in WCW
– Chris Jericho defeats Ultimo Dragon to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Chris Benoit defeats The Taskmaster in a Retirement Match
– Jeff Jarrett defeats Steve McMichael to retain the WCW United States Title
– Roddy Piper defeats Ric Flair
– Lex Luger & The Giant defeat Dennis Rodman & Hollywood Hogan

In 2008, TNA Victory Road was held in Houston, Texas

– Team TNA (Curry Man, Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin) defeat Team International (Alex Koslov, Doug Williams & Tyson Dux), Team Japan (Milano Collection AT, Masato Yoshino & Puma) & Team Mexico (Ultimo Guerrero, Rey Bucanero & Averno) in an Elimination Tag Team Match in the World X Cup Tournament
– The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) in a Fans Revenge Lumberjack Match to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Taylor Wilde defeats Awesome Kong to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Volador Jr defeats Kaz, Naruki Doi & Daivari in in an Ultimate X Match to win the World X Cup for Team Mexico
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) & Kurt Angle defeat AJ Styles, Christian Cage & Rhino in a Full Metal Mayhem Match
– Samoa Joe fought Booker T to a no-contest to retain the TNA World Title. Booker pinned Joe but, due to outside interference, was stripped of the title on Impact. He still held the physical belt until Hard Justice in August

Title Changes

1970 – Sputnik Monroe defeats Danny Hodge to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1982 – Mr Fuji & Mr Saito defeat Jules & Chief Jay Strongbow to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1989 – Riki Choshu & Takayuki Iizuka defeat George Takano & Super Strong Machine to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1992 – Ricky Morton defeats Eddie Gilbert to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1995 – Junji Hirata & Shinya Hashimoto defeat Mike Enos & Scott Norton to win the vacant IWGP Tag Team Titles

1998 – on Raw, Kane & Mankind defeat The New Age Outlaws (Billy Gunn & Road Dogg) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1999 – Shinjiro Otani & Tatsuhito Takaiwa defeat Jushin Liger & The Great Sasuke to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2002 – the 24/7 Rule on the WWE Hardcore Title sees the belt pass from Bradshaw to Justin Credible, to Shawn Stasiak and back to Bradshaw

2007 – Ultimo Guerrero & Dr Wagner Jr defeat Negro Casas & Mistico to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles

2008 – Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Kotaro Suzuki defeat KENTA & Taiji Ishimori to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2010 – AJ Styles defeats Rob Terry to win the TNA Global Title. Also, Madison Rayne is awarded the TNA Knockouts Title after threatening to sue TNA over the controversial finish to her title loss at Victory Road the previous Sunday


Happy birthday to indy hardcore star Necro Butcher (39), 2-time ECW Tag Team Champion Chris Michaels (52), former WWF and WCW Tag Team Champion Sean Waltman (41), Canadian midget Claude ‘Dink’ Giroux (57) and one-time WCW Womens Champion Akira Hokuto (46)

Also, today would have been the birthday of one-time CZW Tag Team Champion Chri$ Ca$h (31) and former NWA regular Tony Borne (87)

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply