This Day In Wrestling History – July 11th

Jul 11, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1999, WCW Bash At The Beach was held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida

– Rick Steiner defeats Van Hammer to retain the WCW Television Title
– David Flair defeats Dean Malenko to retain the WCW United States Title
– Fit Finlay wins a Junkyard Invitational Match to win the WCW Hardcore Trophy
– The Jersey Triad (Bam Bam Bigelow, Diamond Dallas Page & Chris Kanyon) defeat Perry Saturn & Chris Benoit to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Buff Bagwell defeats Roddy Piper in a Boxing Match with Mills Lane as special guest referee
– Randy Savage & Sid Vicious defeat Kevin Nash & Sting. Savage pinned Nash to win the WCW World Title

In 2004, WWE Vengeance was a Raw-exclusive event held in Hartford, Connecticut

– La Resistance (Robert Conway & Sylvain Grenier) defeat Ric Flair & Eugene by DQ to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Matt Hardy defeats Kane in a No-DQ Match
– Edge defeats Randy Orton to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Chris Benoit defeats Triple H to retain the World Heavyweight Title

In 2010, TNA Victory Road was held in Orlando, Florida

– Douglas Williams defeats Brian Kendrick in an Ultimate X & Submission Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title (the wrestlers could either retrieve the title belt or make their opponent submit. Williams forced Kendrick to submit)
– Angelina Love defeats Madison Rayne in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Hernandez defeats Matt Morgan in a Cage Match
– Jay Lethal defeats Ric Flair
– The Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin) defeat Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) to win the vacant TNA World Tag Team Titles
– Rob Van Dam defeats Jeff Hardy, Mr Anderson & Abyss in a 4-Way Match to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1958 – Angelo Savoldi defeats Dory Funk to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1961 – Gene Kiniski defeats Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1964 – Hiro Matsuda defeats Danny Hodge to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1981 – Ed Wiskowski & Mike George defeat Eddie Gilbert & Ricky Morton to win the TSW Tag Team Titles

1983 – Chris Adams defeats The Mongol to win the WCCW Television Title

1987 – Lex Luger defeats Nikita Koloff to win the NWA United States Title

1987 – Steve Williams defeats Bubba Rogers to win the UWF Heavyweight Title. Williams would be the final champion before UWF was absorbed into JCP

1989 – Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu defeat Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2011 – Sting defeats Mr Anderson to win the TNA World Title


Happy birthday to one-time AWA World Champion ‘The Destroyer’ Dick Beyer (83), one-time WCW Tag Team Champion Butch Reed (59) and former WWE Tag Team Champion Tyson Kidd (33)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 3-time AWA World Champion Reggie Lisowski (87) and southern-territories regular Jim White (71)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply