Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – June 29th‏


In 2008, WWE Night Of Champions was held in Dallas, Texas

– John Morrison & The Miz defeat Finlay & Hornswoggle to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Matt Hardy defeats Chavo Guerrero to retain the WWE United States Title
– Mark Henry defeats Kane & The Big Show to win the ECW Title
– The Legacy (Ted DiBiase & Cody Rhodes) defeat Hardcore Holly in a Handicap Match to win the World Tag Team Titles (Rhodes had won the titles with Holly, but later turned on him)
– Kofi Kingston defeats Chris Jericho to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Mickie James defeats Katie Lea Burchill to retain the WWE Womens Title
– Edge defeats Batista to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Triple H defeats John Cena to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1987 – Tony Atlas & Skip Young defeat Ted Arcidi & Texas Young in the final of a tournament to win the vacant Texas Tag Team Titles

1998 – on Raw, Steve Austin defeats Kane to win the WWF Title, ending Kane’s reign the night after it begun

1999 – on Raw, The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) defeat The Acolytes (Bradshaw & Faarooq) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2002 – The WWE Hardcore Title’s 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bradshaw to Shawn Stasiak, to Spike Dudley, to Steven Richards and back to Bradshaw

2002 – Jimmy Rave defeats Rocky Reynolds & Jeremy Lopez in a 3-Way Match to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2012 – Adam Cole defeats Roderick Strong to win the ROH Television Title


Happy birthday to UK legend Johnny Saint (72) and former WWE Diva Serena Deeb (27)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



The Bushwhackers to be inducted into the WWE hall of fame?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Is the wrongful death lawsuit vs. WWE filed by Viscera's widow Frivolous?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should The Midnight Express (Dennis Condrey & Bobby Eaton) be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...