This Day In Wrestling History – June 28th‏

Jun 28, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1998, WWF King of the Ring was held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The event is famed for one of it’s main event matches which saw Mankind thrown from the top of the Hell In A Cell through the announce table and later Chokeslammed through the top of cell

– The New Age Outlaws (Billy Gunn & Road Dogg) defeat The New Midnight Express (Bombastic Bob & Bodacious Bart) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Ken Shamrock wins the King of the Ring Tournament, defeating The Rock in the final
– The Undertaker defeats Mankind in a Hell In A Cell Match
– Kane defeats Steve Austin in a First Blood Match to win the WWF Title

In 2009, WWE’s The Bash was the 20th and final PPV in the Great American Bash series, which dates back to 1985 if you include the original NWA events

– Tommy Dreamer defeats Jack Swagger, Christian, Mark Henry & Finlay in a Championship Scramble Match to retain the ECW Title
– Rey Mysterio defeats Chris Jericho in a Mask vs Title Match to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Edge & Chris Jericho defeat The Colons (Carlito & Primo) & The Legacy (Cody Rhodes & Ted DiBiase Jr) in a Triple Threat Match to win the WWE Unified Tag Team Titles
– Michelle McCool defeats Melina to win the WWE Womens Title
– Jeff Hardy defeats CM Punk by DQ (Punk retains the World Heavyweight Title)
– Randy Orton defeats Triple H in a 3 Stages Of Hell Match to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1982 – Jules & Chief Jay Strongbow defeat Mr Fuji & Mr Saito to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1993 – The Dirty White Boy (wrestling under a mask) defeats Bobby Blaze to win the SMW Television Title. Also, The Bruise Brothers (Don & Ron) defeat The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) to win the SMW Tag Team Titles

1997 – Chris Jericho defeats Syxx to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

1999 – on Raw, Steve Austin defeats The Undertaker to win the WWF Title

2002 – The WWE Title’s 24/7 Rule sees the belt passed from Bradshaw to Shawn Stasiak, to Spike Dudley, to Steven Richards and back to Bradshaw

2008 – Taiyo Kea & Minoru Suzuki defeat Joe Doering & Keiji Mutoh to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2012 – Christopher Daniels & Kazarian defeat Kurt Angle & AJ Styles to win the TNA Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time WWE Tag Team Champion Jon Heidenreich (43)

Also, today would have been the birthday of Mexican star Villaño I (62) and one-time AWA Tag Team Champion Boris Malenko (80)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply