This Day In Wrestling History – June 21st‏

Jun 22, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – The first season of WWF Tough Enough begins on MTV. The series would eventually be won by Maven and Nidia, but also featured Chris Nowinski and Josh Matthews


In 2009, TNA Slammiversary marked the approximate 7th anniversary of TNA Wrestling

– Suicide defeats Jay Lethal, Consequences Creed, Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley in a King of the Mountain Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Daniels defeats Shane Douglas to retain his place in TNA. Had Daniels lost, Douglas would have taken his spot in the company
– Angelina Love defeats Tara to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Abyss & Taylor Wilde defeat Raven & Daffney in a Monsters Ball Match
– Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) defeat Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) to win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Kurt Angle defeats Mick Foley, Jeff Jarrett, AJ Styles & Samoa Joe in a King of the Mountain Match to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1981 – Dusty Rhodes defeats Harley Race to win the NWA World Title

1982 – Junkyard Dog defeats Bob Roop to win the MSW North American Title

1987 – Al Perez defeats The Dingo Warrior to win the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title

1993 – Owen Hart defeats Papa Shango to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1999 – on Raw, Mideon finds the WWF European Title in Shane McMahon’s bag. The title is reactivated and he is declared champion


Happy birthday to former ROH regular Matt Stryker (34)

Also, today would have been the birthday of NWA star Jay Youngblood (58)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply