This Day In Wrestling History – June 20th‏

Jun 20, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1992, the first WCW Beach Blast was held in Mobile, Alabama

– Scotty Flamingo defeats Brian Pillman to win the WCW Light Heavyweight Title
– Sting defeats Cactus Jack in an Falls Count Anywhere Match
– Ricky Steamboat defeats Rick Rude in an Iron Man Match
– Dustin Rhodes, Barry Windham & Nikita Koloff defeat The Dangerous Alliance (Arn Anderson, Steve Austin & Bobby Eaton) by DQ with Ole Anderson as special guest referee
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) fought The Miracle Violence Connection (Terry Gordy & Steve Williams) to a time-limit draw to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles

In 2004, AAA TripleMania XII was held in Naucalpan, Mexico

– Mr Aguila defeats El Zorro to win the UWA Light Heavyweight Title
– Latin Lover, Hector Garza & Gronda defeat Abyss, Chessman & Abismo Negro
– Charly Manson defeats Electroshock in a Retirement Match. After the match, Electroshock’s wife Lady Apache sacrificed her hair so her husband was not forced to retire. In support of his wife, Electroshock also shaved his head
– La Parka defeats Cibernetico in a Mask vs Mask Match

In 2010, the first WWE Fatal Four Way was held in Uniondale, New York

– Kofi Kingston defeats Drew McIntyre to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Alicia Fox defeats Eve, Gail Kim & Maryse in a Fatal Four Way Match to win the WWE Divas Title
– Rey Mysterio defeats Jack Swagger, CM Punk & The Big Show in a Fatal Four Way Match to win the World Heavyweight Title
– The Miz defeats R-Truth to retain the WWE United States Title
– Sheamus defeats John Cena, Randy Orton & Edge in a Fatal Four Way Match to win the WWE Title

Title Changes

1977 – Bill Watts defeats Stan Hansen with Pat O’Connor as special guest referee to win the vacant TSW North American Title

1981 – Don Muraco defeats Pedro Morales to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

1981 – Les Thornton defeats Terry Taylor to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1987 – Barry Windham defeats Black Bart in the final of a tournament to become the first UWF Western States Heritage Champion

1997 – The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) defeat Kronus in a Handicap Match to win the ECW Tag Team Titles. Kronus’ partner Saturn was injured and could not compete

2000 – on Smackdown, Rikishi defeats Chris Benoit to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2005 – on Raw, Carlito defeats Shelton Benjamin to win the WWE Intercontinental Title

2009 – Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Manabu Nakanishi to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

2011 – Kelly Kelly defeats Brie Bella to win the WWE Divas Title

2012 – Chaos (Takashi Iizuka & Toru Yano) are forced to vacate the IWGP Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famer Koko B Ware (56), UK indy regular Bubblegum (29), former FMW star Mr Gannosuke (45) and former TNA announcer Don West (50)

Also, today would have been the birthday of Japanese star Umanosuke Ueda (73)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply