This Day In Wrestling History – June 19th‏

Jun 19, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1986 – Antonio Inoki wins the NJPW IWGP League, defeating Dick Murdoch in the final

2002 – TNA promotes it’s first weekly PPV show. The event is headlined by Ken Shamrock defeating Malice for the NWA World Title

2005 – Tiger Mask IV wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, defeating Gedo in the final


In 1994, WWF King of the Ring was held in Baltimore, Maryland

– Diesel defeats Bret Hart by DQ (Hart retains the WWF Title)
– The Headshrinkers (Samu & Fatu) defeat Crush & Yokozuna to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Owen Hart wins the King of the Ring Tournament, beating Razor Ramon in the final
– Roddy Piper defeats Jerry Lawler

In 2005, TNA Slammiversary, held in Orlando, Florida, marked the approximate 3-year anniversary of TNA Wrestling

– The Naturals (Chase Stevens & Andy Douglas) defeat Team Canada (Eric Young & Petey Williams) to retain the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– America’s Most Wanted (James Storm & Chris Harris) defeat 3 Live Kru (BG James & Konnan)
– Christopher Daniels defeats Chris Sabin & Michael Shane in a 3-Way Elimination Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Raven defeats AJ Styles, Monty Brown, Abyss & Sean Waltman in a King of the Mountain Match to win the NWA World Title

In 2010, ROH Death Before Dishonor VIII was held in Toronto, Canada, making it the first ROH PPV to be held outside the US

– Kevin Steen defeats El Generico
– Roderick Strong defeats Steve Corino, Eddie Edwards, Colt Cabana, Shawn Daivari & Tyson Dux in a Toronto Gauntlet Match
– The Kings Of Wrestling (Claudio Castagnoli & Chris Hero) defeat The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay) to retain the ROH Tag Team Titles
– Tyler Black defeats Davey Richards to retain the ROH World Title

Also in 2010, NJPW Dominion was held in Osaka, Japan

– Shinsuke Nakamura defeats Daniel Puder
– Giant Bernard & Karl Anderson defeat Yuji Nagata & Wataru Inoue and Yujiro Takahashi & Tetsuya Naito in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Prince Devitt defeats Naomichi Marufuji to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Toru Yano in a Hair vs Hair Match
– Togi Makabe defeats Go Shiozaki to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2011, WWE Capitol Punishment was held in Washington DC. This event was originally billed as a continuation of the Fatal Four Way series, but was later renamed

– Dolph Ziggler defeats Kofi Kingston to win the WWE United States Title
– Alex Riley defeats The Miz
– Ezekiel Jackson defeats Wade Barrett to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Randy Orton defeats Christian to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– John Cena defeats R-Truth to retain the WWE Title

Also in 2011, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 12 was held in Tokyo, Japan

– KAI defeats Shuji Kondo to win the vacant AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Seiya Sanada & Manabu Soya defeat Daisuke Sekimoto & Yuji Okabayashi to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles
– The Great Muta & KENSO defeat Akebono & Ryota Hama to win the vacant AJPW Tag Team Titles
– Suwama defeats Yuji Nagata to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1939 – Leroy McGuirk defeats John Swenski to win the World Junior Heavyweight Title

1992 – The CMLL World Middleweight Title is vacated after Blue Panther leaves the promotion for AAA

1993 – The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat Money Inc (Ted DiBiase & Irwin R Schyster) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1996 – Wolfie D defeats Brickhouse Brown to win the USWA Television Title

2000 – on Raw, Gerald Brisco defeats Crash Holly to win the WWF Hardcore Title, but would lose it to Pat Patterson before the end of the show

2001 – The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeat Chris Benoit & Chris Jericho to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2002 – AJ Styles defeats Low Ki, Jerry Lynn & Psicosis in a Four Way Double Elimination Match to become the first TNA X-Division Champion

2005 – Shuji Kondo & Brother Yasshi defeat Tomoaki Honma & Katsuhiko Nakajima to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2006 – Senshi defeats Sonjay Dutt & Samoa Joe in a 3-Way Dance to win the TNA X-Division Title

2007 – Samoa Joe defeats Jay Lethal to win the TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to former TNA wrestler Tyson Dux (35) and ECW founder Tod Gordon (58)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WCW and NWA Hall of Famer Wahoo McDaniel (75)

In Memoriam

On this day in 1997, the wrestling world lost one-time WWWF Champion Stan Stasiak aged 60. Stasiak, who took his ring name from a 1920’s wrestler, debuted in Quebec in 1958 and soon established himself in several NWA territories, winning championships in Vancouver, Calgary, Oregon and Australia before the 60’s were out. Stasiak began competing for the WWWF in the following decade, winning their Heavyweight Title in 1973. Unusually, Stasiak was not informed in advance that he would be winning the title, rather, he was approached by a road agent on the day of the match who detailed the finish. He would drop the title to Bruno Sammartino just 9 days later. He would continue to wrestle for the WWWF for much of the decade, but would only receive one further title opportunity, losing to Billy Graham in 1977. He would see out the rest of his career in NWA territories on the west coast, retiring to become a mall security guard in 1984. He died peacefully of heart failure

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply