This Day In Wrestling History – June 12th‏

Jun 12, 2013 - by Steve Gerweck


1996 – This year’s NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament is the first to use the current two-block round robin format. Black Tiger II defeats Jushin Liger in the final


In 1991, WCW Clash of the Champions XV: Knocksville, USA was held in Knoxville, Tennessee

– Barry Windham & Arn Anderson defeat Brian Pillman & El Gigante in a Loser Leaves WCW Match. Windham pinned Pillman, forcing him to leave WCW
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat Hiroshi Hase & Masahiro Chono to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Lex Luger defeats The Great Muta
– Ric Flair defeats Bobby Eaton in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 2005, ECW One Night Stand was held in New York City. This event was intended to be a one-off, but was adopted as a recurring PPV. It arguably led to the creation of the ECW brand

– Lance Storm defeats Chris Jericho
– Super Crazy defeats Tajiri & Little Guido in a Triple Threat Match
– Rey Misterio Jr defeats Psychosis
– Sabu defeats Rhyno
– Chris Benoit defeats Eddie Guerrero
– Mike Awesome defeats Masato Tanaka
– The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeat Tommy Dreamer & The Sandman

In 2011, TNA Slammiversary IX was held in Orlando, Florida. The event marked the approximate 9-year anniversary of TNA Wrestling

– Gun Money (James Storm & Alex Shelley) defeat The British Invasion (Douglas Williams & Magnus) to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Abyss defeats Kazarian & Brian Kendrick in a 3-Way Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Mickie James defeats Angelina Love to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Mr Anderson defeats Sting to win the TNA World Title
– Kurt Angle defeats Jeff Jarrett. Had Angle lost, he would have had to give his Olympic medal to Jarrett

Title Changes

1936 – Dave Levin defeats Ali Baba to win the World Heavyweight Title

1972 – Bob Sweetan defeats The Stomper to win the TSW Brass Knucks Title

1982 – The Spoiler defeats Frank Dusek to win the WCCW Television Title

1987 – Antonio Inoki defeats Masa Saito in the final of a tournament to become the first IWGP Heavyweight Champion

1991 – Jushin Liger defeats Norio Honaga to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1992 – The CMLL World Heavyweight Title is vacated after incumbent champion Cien Caras moves to AAA

1996 – Kazuo Yamazaki & Takashi Iizuka defeat Junji Hirata & Shinya Hashimoto to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1998 – Kenta Kobashi defeats Toshiaki Kawada to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2000 – on Raw, Crash Holly defeats Gerald Brisco to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2001 – on Smackdown, Test defeats Rhyno to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2004 – Kendo Kashin & Yuji Nagata defeat Kaz Hayashi & Satoshi Kojima to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former ECW World Champion Jerry Lynn (50), one-time World Heavyweight Champion Mark Henry (42), the first ECW ‘Triple Crown’ Champion Johnny Hotbody (50) and former WWE referee Jack Doan (42)

Also, today would have been the birthday of Mexican star Hector Garza (44)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply