This Day In Wrestling History – June 10th‏

Jun 10, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2011 – Kota Ibushi wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating Ryusuke Taguchi in the final

2012 – Ryusuke Taguchi wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating Low Ki in the final


In 1995, AAA TripleMania III-A was held in Orizaba, Mexico

– Los Villanos (I, II & III) defeat Los Payasos (Coco Rojo, Coco Verde & Coco Amarillo) in a Six-Man Lucha Libre Rules Tag Team Match
– Super Calo & Winners fought Marabunta & Angel Mortal to a draw in a Relevos Suicidas Tag Team Match
– Konnan, Perro Aguayo, La Parka & Octagon defeat Cien Caras, Mascara Ano 2000, Pentagon & Jerry Estrada in an Eight-Man Atomicos Tag Team Match
– In a 13-man Cage Mask vs Mask Elimination Match, Payasito Rojo is forced to unmask after being the last man left in the cage

In 2012, TNA Slammiversary was held in Arlington, Texas. The event broke the record for the largest TNA attendance in the USA. During the show, Sting was announced as the first TNA Hall of Fame inductee and WWE-contracted wrestler Christian (under his former TNA ringname Christian Cage) made an appearance

– Austin Aries defeats Samoa Joe to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Mr Anderson defeats Jeff Hardy & Rob Van Dam in a 3-Way Match
– Brooke Tessmacher defeats Gail Kim to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Kurt Angle & AJ Styles defeat Christopher Daniels & Kazarian to win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Bobby Roode defeats Sting to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1978 – Rick Steamboat defeats Paul Jones to win the NWA Television Title

1979 – Bruiser Brody defeats Mark Lewin to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1983 – Harley Race defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

1985 – Tim Brooks defeats Scott Casey to win the WCCW Television Title

1988 – Masa Saito & Riki Choshu defeat Kengo Kimura & Tatsumi Fujinami to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1988 – Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu defeat The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) to unify the PWF Tag Team Titles and the NWA International Tag Team Titles. The new title is referred to as the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1995 – Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Masahiro Chono defeat Junji Hirata & Shinya Hashimoto to win the vacant IWGP Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to Mexican star Ephesto (48)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former NWA star Dick Dunn (83)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply