This Day In Wrestling History – June 8th‏

Jun 8, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank

Experiment attempted, experiment failed. We are nothing if not a democracy! Thanks to everyone who commented


2008 – WWE begins airing ‘Vintage Collection’ (later renamed Vintage Classics), a look back at classic matches, hosted by Gene Okerlund

2010 – WWE NXT season 2 begins on Syfy

Title Changes

1963 – Johnny Barend defeats Bobo Brazil to win the WWWF United States Title

1990 – Stan Hansen defeats Terry Gordy to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

1999 – Kendo Kashin wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, defeating Koji Kanemoto in the final

1999 – Ivory defeats Debra to win the WWF Womens Title

2001 – Keiji Mutoh defeats Genichiro Tenryu to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title. Also, Masahito Kakihara & Mitsuya Nagai defeat Shinya Makabe & Yuji Nagata to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2003 – Keiji Mutoh & Arashi defeat Satoshi Kojima & Jimmy Yang in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW Unified Tag Team Titles


In 1988, NWA Clash of Champions II: Miami Mayhem was held in Miami, Florida. This was the second of what would be 35 Clash of (the) Champions TV specials

– Barry Windham defeats Brad Armstrong to retain the NWA United States Title
– The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) defeat The Sheepherders (Luke Williams & Butch Miller) to retain the NWA United States Tag Team Titles
– Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard fought Sting & Dusty Rhodes to a double DQ after interference from Ric Flair & Barry Windham (Anderson & Blanchard retain the NWA Tag Team Titles)

In 1997, WWF King of the Ring was held in Providence, Rhode Island

– The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart, Owen Hart & Jim Neidhart) defeat Sycho Sid & The Legion of Doom (Hawk & Animal) in a 6-Man Tag Team Match
– Hunter Hearst Helmsley wins the King of the Ring Tournament, defeating Mankind in the final
– Shawn Michaels fough Steve Austin to a double DQ due to both men attacking the referee
– The Undertaker defeats Faarooq to retain the WWF Title

In 2008, TNA Slammiversary was held in Southaven, Mississippi. This event was marred by a fatal accident after the show; Kevin Sinex, an independent contractor, was disassembling the set, when the scaffolding he was standing on collapsed

– Petey Williams defeats Kaz to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Awesome Kong won two $25,000 Fan Challenges against ‘fans’ Serena Deeb & Josie Robinson
– AJ Styles defeats Kurt Angle
– Samoa Joe defeats Robert Roode, Booker T, Rhino & Christian Cage in a King of the Mountain Match with Kevin Nash as special guest enforcer to retain the TNA World Title


Happy birthday to 2-time NWA World Champion Dan Severn (55), former WWF/E star Tatanka (52), 5-time PWG Tag Team Champion Scott Lost (33) and one-time CZW World Champion Egotistico Fantastico (31)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 3-time NWA World Champion Wild Bill Longson (107)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply