This Day In Wrestling History – June 7th‏

Jun 7, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank

Hi all, I’m experimenting with a new layout to the column today in an attempt to make it easier to read. I’d appreciate any feedback both positive and negative

Thanks for reading!

1950 – WWE Hall of Famer Howard Finkel is born. Today is his 63rd birthday

1960 – Rikidozan & Toyonobori defeat Dan Miller & Frank Valois to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1965 – WWE Hall of Famer Mick Foley is born. Today is his 48th birthday

1969 – Jose Lothario defeats Johnny Valentine to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1973 – Dennis Stamp & Dewey Robertson defeat Rip Tyler & Eddie Sullivan to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1978 – Paul Jones defeats Baron von Raschke to win the NWA Television Title

1979 – Antonio Inoki wins the NJPW MSG League, defeating Stan Hansen in the final

1981 – Terry Taylor defeats Les Thornton to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1982 – Sgt Slaughter defeats Wahoo McDaniel to win the NWA United States Title

1989 – TNA Gut Check winner Taeler Hendrix is born. Today is her 24th birthday

1993 – Bobby Blaze defeats The Dirty White Boy to win the vacant SMW Television Title

1994 – Tracy Smothers defeats Kendo The Samurai to win the SMW Television Title

1995 – The Thugs (Tony Anthony & Tracy Smothers) defeat The Dynamic Duo (Al Snow & Unabomb) to win the SMW Tag Team Titles. This was the only change in the history of the titles that did not involve either The Rock n Roll Express or The Heavenly Bodies

1996The Ilio DiPaolo Memorial Show was held in Buffalo, New York. The show was promoted by Ilio’s son Dennis in association with WCW. All proceeds from the show were donated to local childrens charities

– Konnan defeats Big Bubba Rogers to retain the WCW United States Title
– The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Saggs) defeat The Public Enemy (Rocco Rock & Johnny Grunge) in a Street Fight
– Lex Luger defeats Jim Duggan to retain the WCW Television Title
– Randy Savage defeats Ric Flair
– The Giant defeats Sting by DQ to retain the WCW World Title

1998AAA TripleMania VI was held in Chihuahua, Mexico. This was the first year since 1993 that there was only one TripleMania event.

– Pentagon, Octagon & Octagoncito defeat Electroshock, Abismo Negro & Mini Abismo Negro
– Latin Lover, La Parka Jr, Blue Demon Jr & El Alebrije defeat Los Vipers (Histeria, Maniaco, Cibernetico & Psicosis II)
– Perro Aguayo & Perro Aguayo Jr defeat Fuerza Guerrera & Mosco de la Merced to win the Mexican National Tag Team Titles
– Kick Boxer defeats Heavy Metal

2003 – the final WWE Insurrextion was a Raw-exclusive event held in Newcastle, England

– Jazz defeats Trish Stratus to retain the WWE Womens Title
– Christian defeats Booker T to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Rob Van Dam & Kane defeat La Resistance (Robert Conway & Sylvain Grenier) to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Triple H defeats Kevin Nash in a Street Fight to retain the World Heavyweight Title

Also, Rocky Reynolds defeats Brother Love to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2006 – one-time WWF Tag Team Champion John Tenta died aged just 42. Tenta competed in multiple sports in his youth, but it was wrestling that he most favoured. Upon graduating from Louisiana State University, Tenta moved to Japan to compete as a sumo wrestler. Despite his in-ring success (going unbeaten in his first 6 months of competition) Tenta quit sumo to focus on professional wrestling. He initially competed in All Japan, but was soon scouted and snapped up by the WWF, debuting as ‘Earthquake Evans’ (which was later shortened to Earthquake) in 1989. He was pushed as a monster heel, repeatedly sending his opponents out of the ring on a stretcher after repeatedly hitting his Seated Senton finisher. He was soon at the peak of his career, feuding with Hulk Hogan across 1990-91. A brief run as WWF Tag Team Champion followed, but his career began to wane and he would make the jump to WCW in 1994, after being offered a more lucrative contract. Here, he competed as ‘Avalanche’, ‘The Shark’ and ‘John Tenta’ but found little success under any of the characters. By 1997, he had left WCW and was back in the WWF a year later as ‘Golga’, though this character was also unsuccessful and he was released less than a year later. After nearly a year out of wrestling, Tenta (as Earthquake) returned to the WWF to compete in the gimmick battle royal at WrestleMania X-7 before touring Japan to round off his career. In 2004, Tenta was forced to retire from wrestling after devloping bladder cancer, which later spread to his lungs, ultimately causing his death. WWE acknowledged his death on their website and included an ‘In Memorial’ image before the following Raw and Smackdown shows. It should also be noted that the folks over at posted a beautiful tribute, with Tenta having been involved with the site in previous years

2008 – the NWA 60th Anniversary Show was held in Atlanta, Georgia

– Mike DiBiase defeats Aaron Stevens to retain the NWA North American Heavyweight Title
– Iceberg defeats Mikael Judas & Shatter in a Triple Threat Match to retain the NWA Anarchy Heavyweight Title
– Blue Demon Jr & Sean Waltman defeat Rob Conway & Carl Ouellet
– Mike Quackenbush defeats Ricky Vega to retain the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title
– Los Luchas (Phoenix Star & Zokre) defeat The Naturals (Chase Stevens & Andy Douglas) & The Real American Heroes (Karl Anderson & Joey Ryan) in a Triple Threat Elimination Match to retain the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeat The Midnight Express (Dennis Condrey & Bobby Eaton)

Also, ROH Respect Is Earned II was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– Roderick Strong defeats Erick Stevens in a Fight Without Honor
– Nigel McGuinness defeats Go Shiozaki to retain the ROH World Title
– The Age Of The Fall (Jimmy Jacobs & Tyler Black) defeat Austin Aries & Bryan Danielson to retain the ROH Tag Team Titles

2009WWE Extreme Rules, held in New Orleans, Louisiana, marked the start of WWE’s new match-specific PPV events

– Kofi Kingston defeats MVP, William Regal & Matt Hardy in a Fatal Four Way Match to retain the WWE United States Title
– Chris Jericho defeats Rey Mysterio in a No Holds Barred Match to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Tommy Dreamer defeats Christian & Jack Swagger in a Triple Threat Match to win the ECW Title. Had Dreamer lost, he would have been fired
– Santino Marella defeats Vickie & Chavo Guerrero in a Handicap Hogpen Match to retain the title of Miss Wrestlemania
– Batista defeats Randy Orton in a Cage Match to win the WWE Title
– Jeff Hardy defeats Edge in a Ladder Match to win the World Heavyweight Title
– CM Punk cashes in his Money In The Bank and defeats Jeff Hardy to win the World Heavyweight Title

2010 – The Nexus debut on tonight’s Raw, decimating the ringside area. Unfortunately, the angle never really reached its potential and the significantly altered group had all-but-disappeared one year later.

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply