This Day In Wrestling History – June 6th‏

Jun 6, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2011 – Andy Leavine wins the revival series of WWE Tough Enough


In 1997, The Ilio DiPaolo Memorial Show was held in Buffalo, New York. The show was promoted by Ilio’s son Dennis in association with WCW. All proceeds from the show were donated to local childrens charities

– Dean Malenko defeats Alex Wright to retain the WCW United States Title
– Diamond Dallas Page defeats Randy Savage
– Dean Malenko fought Rey Misterio Jr to a time-limit draw to retain the WCW United States Title
– The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) defeat Lex Luger & The Giant to retain the WCW Tag Team Titles

In 2001, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan

– Mitsuya Nagai defeats Takashi Iizuka by TKO
– Toshiaki Kawada defeats Satoshi Kojima
– Jinsei Shinzaki, Taiyo Kea & Jushin Liger defeat Akira Nogami, Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Masa Chono
– Keiji Mutoh defeats Hiroshi Hase
– Kazuyuki Fujita defeats Yuji Nagata by TKO to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2010, AAA TripleMania XVIII was held in Mexico City. The show featured the induction of Abismo Negro into the AAA Hall of Fame

– Octagoncito defeats Mini Abismo Negro, Mini Charly Manson, Mascarita Divina, Mini Psicosis, Mini Histeria, Mascarita Sagrada, La Parkita & Mini Chessman in a TLC Match to win the AAA Mini-Estrellas Title
– Los Maniacos (Silver Cain & Ultimo Gladiator) defeat Beer Money Inc (Robert Roode & James Storm), Atsushi Aoki & Go Shiozaki and La Hermandad 187 (Nicho & Joe Lider) in a Four-Way Elimination Tag Team Match to win the AAA Tag Team Titles
– Cibernetico & Abyss defeat El Zorro & Vampiro in an Extreme Rules Tag Team Match
– Jack Evans defeats Extreme Tiger, Christopher Daniels & Nosawa in a Four-Way Elimination Match to win the AAA Cruiserweight Title
– Dr Wagner Jr defeats Electroshock to retain the AAA World Title
– LA Park defeats La Parka to win the rights to the name ‘La Parka’

Title Changes

1964 – Luke & Dr Jerry Graham defeat Don McClairty & Argentina Apollo to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles

1966 – Fritz von Erich defeats Brute Bernard to become the first WCCW American Heavyweight Champion

1981 – Jake Roberts defeats The Grappler to win the MSW North American Title

1982 – Jimmy Valiant defeats Ivan Koloff to win the NWA Television Title

1993 – Shawn Michaels defeats Marty Jannetty to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2000 – on Thunder, Lieutenant Loco defeats Daffney & Disco Inferno in a Triple Threat Match to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title. Also, Eric Bischoff awards the WCW Hardcore Title to Johnny Stamboli & Big Vito, though for unknown reasons, Vito would eventually be named sole champion

2003 – Tamon Honda & Kenta Kobashi defeat Jun Akiyama & Akitoshi Saito to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2008 – The Age of the Fall (Jimmy Jacobs & Tyler Black) defeat Kevin Steen & El Generico in the final of a tournament to win the vacant ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWF wrestler Ted Arcidi (55), indy hardcore star 2 Tuff Tony (39), one-time WWE Intercontinental and Tag Champion Drew McIntyre (28), one-time WWF Intercontinental Champion Ahmed Johnson (43) and 3-time TNA Knockouts Champion ODB (35)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former NWA star Rip Hawk (83)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply