This Day In Wrestling History – May 4th‏

May 4, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1986, WCCW Parade of Champions 3 was held in Irving, Texas

– Brian Adias defeats Steve Regal to retain the WCWA Texas Heavyweight Title
– Rick Rude defeats Bruiser Brody by DQ to retain the WCWA World Heavyweight Title
– Bruiser Brody defeats Terry Gordy in a Barbed Wire Match
– Steve Simpson, Kerry Von Erich & Lance Von Erich defeat The Fabulous Freebirds (Michael Hayes, Terry Gordy & Buddy Roberts) in a Lumberjack Elimination Match to win the WCWA Six-Man Tag Team Titles

In 2002, WWF Insurrextion, held in London, England, was both the first single-brand PPV (Raw) and the last under the WWF name

– Rob Van Dam defeats Eddie Guerrero by DQ (Guerrero retains the WWF Intercontinental Title)
– The WWF Hardcore Title is passed from Steven Richards, to Booker T, to Crash Holly, back to Booker and finally back to Richards
– The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) defeat Brock Lesnar & Shawn Stasiak
– Spike Dudley defeats William Regal to retain the WWF European Title
– Steve Austin defeats The Big Show with Ric Flair as special guest referee
– Triple H defeats The Undertaker

Title Changes

1905 – Georg Hackenschmidt defeats Tom Jenkins to be recognized as the first World Heavyweight Champion

1968 – Danny Hodge & Skandar Akbar defeat Chati Yokouchi & Chuck Karbo in the final of a tournament to win the vacant TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1973 – Blackjack Mulligan defeats Jose Lothario to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1986 – Kerry von Erich, Lance von Erich & Steve Simpson defeat The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy, Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts) to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles. Simpson immediately gave up his share of the titles to Kevin von Erich

1987 – The Fantastics defeat The Rock N Roll RPMs (Tommy Lane & Mike Davis) to win the vacant WCCW World Tag Team Titles

1992 – Jerry Lawler defeats Kamala to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1996 – Tony Falk defeats Jesse James Armstrong to win the USWA Television Title

1998 – on Nitro, Fit Finlay defeats Booker T to win the WCW Television Title

2001 – Mike Thunder defeats Rocky Reynolds to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2004 – on Smackdown, Jacqueline defeats Chavo Guerrero to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title

2010 – The Band (Scott Hall & Kevin Nash) defeat Matt Morgan in a Handicap Match to win the TNA Tag Team Titles. Eric Young is also recognized as champion under the Freebird Rule


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famer Mr Fuji (78), current WWE referee Scott Armstrong (54), 16-time WWC Universal Champion Ray González (41), current WWE performer Brad Maddox (29), one-time IWGP Heavyweight Champion Salman Hashimikov (60), one-time AJPW All Asia Tag Team Champion Jim Steele (46) and former WWF and WCW valet Alicia Webb (34)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former NWA star Dory Funk Sr (94)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply